Newsmakers: February 25, 2009

Newsmakers: February 25, 2009

Junior Round-up

Current members Alexis Thompson of Coral Springs, Fla., and Jennifer Johnson of La Quinta, Calif., were granted sponsor’s exemptions into the LPGA's Kraft Nabisco Championship in April. Thompson is currently ranked second in the Polo Golf Rankings, having won the Verizon Junior Heritage in February. Johnson, winner of the 2008 Rolex Tournament of Champions, is a 2009 graduate and currently ranked No. 6 in the Polo Golf Rankings.

Amanda Blumenherst, Tiffany Joh, Azahara Munoz, and Candace Schepperle were the other amateurs to receive sponsor's invitations.

The tournament will be played April 2-5 on the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club, home of the ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior.

College Round-up

Mauricio Azcue
Mauricio Azcue

Texas A&M finished strong to come away with victory at the John Burns Intercollegiate last weekend, with four of five players shooting in the 60s. The Aggies closed with a 16-under-par 272 on Friday for a three-stroke victory over the University of New Mexico.

James Erkenbeck of New Mexico took home the honors with a three-round total of 11-under-par 205. Tarquin Macmanus of Arizona, James Kwon of SMU, Andrew Landry of Arkansas, Cole Moreland of Auburn, Jordan Hammer of BYU, Bronson Burgoon of Texas A&M, Daniel Wax of Denver, Tyler Neal of Arizona, Ethan Tracy of Arkansas, Jake Yount of San Diego, Jay Myers of SJSU, Scott Smith of Nevada, Steve Saunders of New Mexico, and Zen Brown of Colorado St. all finished in the top 10.

Erkenbeck was named Golfweek’s Men’s College Player of the Week.

The University of North Alabama golf team easily dominated the field to win the Pizza Hut/AT&T Classic Monday in Chowta, Miss. They defeated Tennessee-Martin by 24-strokes.

David Gies II from the University of North Alabama carded a 74-72 – 146 to give him a one-stroke victory over his teammates Jake Greer and Tyler Chandler.

Wes Smith and Alex Hirai of Northern Alabama, Matt Stephens and Bradley Stevens of Tennessee-Martin, Clint Suggs of Lipscomb, and Jake Heatherly and Jared Dunn of Tennessee Tech round out the top 10.

Mauricio Azcue, a freshman at UCLA, received a sponsor’s exemption into the Mayakoba Golf Classic at Riviera Maya-Cancun being held this weekend. The tournament is played at El Camaleón Golf Club, which has been home to the Mayakoba Junior Golf Classic for the last two years.

St. Leo University came away with a win at the Ann Rhoads Shootout in Calera, Ala., Monday. The Lions’ first-ever win came after their head coach had to return home for a death in the family. Interim Swim Coach Kathy Lavery was asked to step in and helped the team to victory over Berry College by three shots.

Emily Gibson of Montevallo, Julie Donnestad and Rachel Ingram of Lee University, Bhavna Shetty of West Florida, and Goeon Lee of St. Leo University all finished in the top five.

UCLA won the Arizona Wildcat Invitational, hosted by the Peninsula Golf Club in Sonora, Mexico, Tuesday. The Bruins bested Arizona State and Southern Cal by nine strokes.

Jodi Ewart of New Mexico and Lizette Salas of USC tied for first place with three-round totals of 3-under-par 213.

Carlota Ciganda of Arizona State, Caroline Hedwall of Oklahoma State, and Stephanie Kono of UCLA rounded out the top five.

Professional Round-up

Phil Mickelson defended his title at the Northern Trust Open in Pacific Palisades, Calif., last weekend, defeating Steve Stricker by one shot.

Fred Couples, Andres Romero, K.J. Choi, Mark Calcavecchia, J.B. Holmes, Luke Donald, Roy Sabbatini, Dustin Johnson, Scott McCarron, Brandon de Jonge all finished in the top 10.

*Current AJGA members and alumni denoted in bold










Premier Partners
Official Partners
Media Partners
Association Partner
Twitter Facebook AJGA Blog AJGA on Instagram AJGA on YouTube
Member Logins
Player, Coach and Alumni Login
Member ID:
Forgot your password?
Don't have a password?
Forgot your Member ID?
Not A Member or Need to Renew?
What every member should know
Learn the basics
Performance Based Entry
Leadership Links
ACE Grant financial aid
Polo Golf Rankings
1. Chun-an Yu
Taoyuan, --
2. Philip Barbaree
Shreveport, LA
3. Eugene Hong
Sanford, FL
4. Spencer Soosman
Westlake Village, CA
5. Davis Shore
Knoxville, TN
1. Hannah O'Sullivan
Chandler, AZ
2. Angel Yin
Arcadia, CA
3. Sierra Brooks
Sorrento, FL
4. Nelly Korda
Bradenton, FL
5. Mika Liu
Beverly Hills, CA
Complete Rankings

The Foundation

The American Junior Golf Foundation is the primary recipient of all charitable giving to the AJGA and as such administers a variety of programs designed to compliment the AJGA and the members and families who make up our community. Learn more about these important programs and how your contributions to the Foundation secure the AJGA’s financial future for future generations to come.
Donate Now
Planned Giving Program
Endow an ACE Grant
Annual Fund
ACE Grant


The Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program provides financial assistance to junior golfers who wish to play in AJGA events. Its goal is to give top-flight golf opportunities to young golfers regardless of financial resources. This program helps to fulfill the AJGA’s mission of developing young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Leadership Links

What is Leadership Links?

Leadership Links is a new program whereby the AJGA is able to further its mission to help develop young men and women by teaching charitable giving skills and service-oriented practices at an early age. This program gives juniors all the tools necessary to donate their time, talent and resources to local charities and the AJGA youth development programs. Please click here to learn more about the program and the different opportunities available.

Weekly Results
Polo Golf Junior Classic
S.M. Lee
Won Jun Lee
Matthew Wolff
Mariel Galdiano
Andrea Lee
Maria Hoyos
FJ Live Scoring
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and
development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.