Junior All-Star at Nemacolin

Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
Farmington, Pa. May 2 - 4, 2014

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Chris Richards • (678) 425-1788 • crichards@ajga.org

Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Local flavor: Seven players from Pennsylvania will compete.
Boys Division Hometown Grad
Michael Cestone Clarks Summit 2017
Michael Lubrani Belle Vernon 2017
Nate Menon Wyomissing 2017
Brendan Shaughnessy Canonsburg 2016
R.J. Wren Morgantown 2016
Girls Division Hometown Grad
Marissa Balish Allison Park 2016
Madison Mcdanel Aliquippa 2016
Nemacolin continues its support of the AJGA
For the sixth year, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort will host the AJGA. Seventy-eight of the world's best junior golfer will travel to Farmington, Pa., for the Junior All-Star at Nemacolin.
Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy Junior All-Star Series
The Junior Al-Star at Nemacolin is one of 14 events in the Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy Junior All-Star Series. Specifically designed for boys and girls ages 12-15, the Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy Junior All-Star Series presents opportunities for younger players to develop their skills and earn entry into AJGA Open tournaments. The Series concludes with the Junior All-Star Invitational sponsored by NIKEGOLF over Columbus Day weekend for winners and top finishers in Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy Junior All-Star Series events.

Schedule of Events

Friday, May 2
1:30 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Saturday, May 3
8 a.m. shotgun First Round
Sunday, May 4
8 a.m. shotgun Final Round
1:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch

Sam Jung, (South Korea) Centreville, Va. (2018)
In three seasons playing in AJGA events, Jung has collected four top-10 finishes and a win at the 2013 Junior All-Star at Talbot. Jung looks to build upon his momentum in 2014 after finishing T9 at the TaylorMade-adidas Golf Junior All-Star, his first event of the year.
Garrett Barber, Stuart, Fla. (2018)
Barber has only played in two AJGA events, but already has a victory. He took home the championship at the Junior All-Star at Hot Spring Village earlier this year.
Riley Rennell, Columbia, Tenn. (2017)
Rennell, a high school freshman, is coming off a 2013 season that included three top-five finishes, including a win at the McArthur Towel & Sports Future Legends with rounds of 71-74-71--216. Rennell finished fourth at both the 2014 Bridgestone Golf / Brandt Snedeker Music City Junior presented by Toyota and the 2014 Randy Wise Junior Open.
Emma Fisher, Bloomington, Ind. (2016)
Fisher is in the middle of her second AJGA season and looking to continue her successful 2013 campaign. Fisher earned medalist honors at the 2013 Preseason at Fieldstone and in in her first event of 2014 she earned a top-10 finish at the Junior All-Star at Kokopelli.

Media Accommodations

The Junior All-Star at Nemacolin will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to ajga.org. Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

Junior All-Star Series

The Junior All-Star at Nemacolin is one of 15 events in the Junior All-Star Series. Specifically designed for boys and girls ages 12-15, the Junior All-Star Series presents opportunities for younger players to develop their skills and earn entry into AJGA Open tournaments. The Series concludes with the Junior All-Star Invitational sponsored by NIKEGOLF over Columbus Day weekend for winners and top finishers in Junior All-Star Series events.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-18) of more than 6,300 members from 48 states and more than 50 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 600 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Jordan Spieth, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Stacy Lewis, Vicky Hurst, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Brittany Lincicome and Morgan Pressel.

Tournament field

- Bold indicates Pennsylvania native
Boys Division
Garrett Barber Stuart, Fla.
Beau Bayerl Ashland, Ohio
Ian Buchanan Charlottesville, Va.
Nicolas Cassidy Johns Creek, Ga.
Michael Cestone Clarks Summit, Pa.
Nick Chaiken Dallas, Texas
Christian Chapman Victor, N.Y.
Brian Chen Cary, N.C.
Dylan Cline Hagerstown, Md.
Daniel Core (Canada) Sorrento, Fla.
Thomas Corrigan Irvington, N.Y.
Kyle Cottam Knoxville, Tenn.
Hunter Cuthbertson Huntington, N.Y.
John Driscoll III Ridgewood, N.J.
C.J. Easley Oxford, Miss.
Davis Evans Phoenix, Ariz.
Manuel Girona (Spain) Windermere, Fla.
Daniel Griffiths Binghamton, N.Y.
Crosby Guercio Frisco, Texas
Jason Guintu Potomac Falls, Va.
Jack Herceg Dublin, Ohio
Alex Hu (China) Heathrow, Fla.
Sam Jung (South Korea) Centreville, Va.
Justin Lane Woodstock, N.Y.
Christopher Lee Westwood, N.J.
Brandon Locke Ashburn, Va.
Michael Lubrani Belle Vernon, Pa.
James McHugh Rye, N.Y.
James McKee Windham, N.H.
Nicholas Mejia Woodstock, Md.
Zack Mendez Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Nate Menon Wyomissing, Pa.
Connery Meyer Marietta, Ga.
Blake Micholas Potomac, Md.
David Morgan Naples, Fla.
Whit Parker Conway, Ark.
Jack Parrott Columbia, S.C.
Peter Peng (Taiwan) Katy, Texas
Bennett Perrine West Windsor, N.J.
James Petrokus Royal Palm Beach, Fla.
Drew Powell Bangor, Maine
Carlos Riascos Bogota, Colombia
Taso Scilaris Bethesda, Md.
Owen Sertl Marietta, Ga.
Brendan Shaughnessy Canonsburg, Pa.
Isaac Simmons Huddleston, Va.
Zak Supelak Akron, Ohio
Bahram Talle Ladera Ranch, Calif.
Brian Terlesky Youngstown, Ohio
Teddy Tetak Limbach, Slovak Republic
Will Thomson Pittsford, N.Y.
Ethan Uken Edwards, Ill.
Marcello Verdolin (Italy) Lerma, Mexico
John Weiss Columbia, S.C.
Jared Wilson Columbiana, Ohio
Grayson Wotnosky Wake Forest, N.C.
R.J. Wren Morgantown, Pa.
Charles Young Woodstock, Md.
Girls Division
Marissa Balish Allison Park, Pa.
Morgan Baxendale Windermere, Fla.
Hannah Berman Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
Haley Bookholdt Columbus, N.J.
Bethany Burns Signal Mountain, Tenn.
Lena Capoccia Bethesda, Md.
Annika Espino Honolulu, Hawaii
Emma Fisher Bloomington, Ind.
Mindy Herrick Gainesville, Fla.
Esha Kulkarni Dayton, Ohio
Katie Lee Ringoes, N.J.
Amber Liu Vienna, Va.
Lindsay May Auburn, N.Y.
Madison Mcdanel Aliquippa, Pa.
Megan McLean Lebanon, N.J.
Naomi Mitchell Norfolk, Va.
Riley Rennell Columbia, Tenn.
Krystal Sung Derwood, Md.
Haeley Wotnosky Wake Forest, N.C.