Newsmakers: March 7, 2006

College Round-up

The Golf Coaches Association of America has named its Ben Hogan Award Watch List. The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months. The GCAA presents it along with Bank of America, Colonial Country Club and the Friends of Golf. The award will be presented May 13 prior to the Bank of America Colonial PGA TOUR event.

Brian Harman

This year, 20 of the 27 golfers named to the watch list are former AJGA players. Clay Ogden of Brigham Young University, Dustin Johnson of Coastal Carolina University, Ryan Blaum and Jake Grodzinsky of Duke, Matt Every of the University of Florida, Brian Harman and Chris Kirk of the University of Georgia, Roberto Castro of Georiga Tech, Jay Choi of the University of New Mexico, Martin Ureta of the University of North Carolina, Dillon Dougherty of Northwestern University, Anthony Kim of Oklahoma University, Rob Grube of Stanford, Oscar Floren of Texas Tech, Erik Flores of UCLA, Andres Gonzales of UNLV, Scott Brown of USC - Aiken, Luke List of Vandy and Kyle Reifers and Webb Simpson of Wake Forest are all former AJGA members named to the watch list.

Kirk has also been named the SEC's Golfer of the Week after taking home medalist honors at the Puerto Rico Classic. Teammate Brendon Todd finished in a tie for third with Florida's Every helping boost UGA to top team honors.

Oklahoma's Kim finished seven strokes ahead of Stanford's Zack Miller at the Ashworth Collegiate Invitational. Pepperdine took home top team honors, with Adam Porzak leading his team with a third place tie.

Jacqui Concolino

Vanderbilt freshman Jacqui Concolino took home her second medalist honor in as many week's at the LSU/Cleveland Golf Classic. The two-time Rolex Junior All-American has tied the school record for wins in a season.

Other AJGA Alumni in Men's College Golf...

Ryan Baca's 11-under-par gave him and his Baylor team a first place finish at The Naples Invitational...Andrew Lawson finished at even-par at the Carson Daly Invitational helping The Master's College to a third place team finish. Loyola Marymount took home medalist honors with Jason D'Amore's second place finish leading the way...Greg Koch of Florida Southern finished one stroke ahead of Middle Tennessee State's Nick Bailes at the Didck Wittcoff/South Florida Invitational. Middle Tennessee State finished atop the team division...Andrew Landry, Graham Hill and Justin Harding tied for first at the Orange County National Invitational at 8-under-par. Landry's Lamar took home team honors...Memphis's Keven Fortin-Simard finished first at the All-American Golf Classic. Houston took home team honors with Ricky Romano's third place finish leading the way.

Other AJGA Alumni in Women's College Golf...

Amy Schmucker of the University of Michigan took home top honors at the Rio Verde Invitational. She finished three strokes ahead of Northwestern's Brittany Johnson who helped boost her team to top medalist honors...Christy Carter defeated Jessica Garza in a playoff to lead Oral Roberts to team honors at the Centenary Ladies Spring Invitational...Selanee Henderson finished six strokes ahead of the field at the Kitahara Fresno State Invitational and helped UC Irvine take home team honors.

Professional Round-up

Tiger Woods took home the crystal trophy at the Ford Championship at Doral in Miami. It is his second win on the PGA TOUR this season.

Premier Partners
Official Partners
Media Partners
Association Partner
Twitter Facebook AJGA Blog AJGA on Instagram AJGA on YouTube
Member Logins
Player, Coach and Alumni Login
Member ID:
Forgot your password?
Don't have a password?
Forgot your Member ID?
Not A Member or Need to Renew?
What every member should know
Learn the basics
Performance Based Entry
Leadership Links
ACE Grant financial aid
Polo Golf Rankings
1. Chun-an Yu
Taoyuan, --
2. Philip Barbaree
Shreveport, LA
3. Eugene Hong
Sanford, FL
4. Spencer Soosman
Westlake Village, CA
5. Davis Shore
Knoxville, TN
1. Hannah O'Sullivan
Chandler, AZ
2. Angel Yin
Arcadia, CA
3. Sierra Brooks
Sorrento, FL
4. Nelly Korda
Bradenton, FL
5. Mika Liu
Beverly Hills, CA
Complete Rankings

The Foundation

The American Junior Golf Foundation is the primary recipient of all charitable giving to the AJGA and as such administers a variety of programs designed to compliment the AJGA and the members and families who make up our community. Learn more about these important programs and how your contributions to the Foundation secure the AJGA’s financial future for future generations to come.
Donate Now
Planned Giving Program
Endow an ACE Grant
Annual Fund
ACE Grant


The Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program provides financial assistance to junior golfers who wish to play in AJGA events. Its goal is to give top-flight golf opportunities to young golfers regardless of financial resources. This program helps to fulfill the AJGA’s mission of developing young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Leadership Links

What is Leadership Links?

Leadership Links is a new program whereby the AJGA is able to further its mission to help develop young men and women by teaching charitable giving skills and service-oriented practices at an early age. This program gives juniors all the tools necessary to donate their time, talent and resources to local charities and the AJGA youth development programs. Please click here to learn more about the program and the different opportunities available.

Weekly Results
Polo Golf Junior Classic
S.M. Lee
Won Jun Lee
Matthew Wolff
Mariel Galdiano
Andrea Lee
Maria Hoyos
FJ Live Scoring
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and
development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.