LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
TaylorMade Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA
adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA
Tapatio Springs Golf Resort-Lakes/Valley Course
Boerne, Texas
June 9, 2003

Mullin, Brijalba highlight survivors

BOERNE, TEXAS - Michael Mullin, of Austin, Texas, fired a 2-under-par 69 to propel himself to the top of the Boys Division qualifier. Christine Brijalba, of El Paso, Texas, won the Girls Division by one stroke Monday.

The 18-hole shotgun qualifier, conducted by the American Junior Golf Association, was held at Tapatio Springs Golf Resort in Boerne, Texas. The field consisted of 98 players from six states, including 93 players from Texas, and one from Mexico. Fifteen boys qualified for the tournament, and three girls were added to the field. Past champions of the San Antonio Shootout include Tiger Woods, a winner of the event in 1992.

Mullin found scoring opportunities on a shorter course that featured firm greens and tight fairways as he collected five birdies. Mullin, who started on the 9th hole, recorded an even-par 34 on the front nine. His birdies at the 10th, 12th and 18th helped him to a 2-under-par 35 on the back nine. He carded one of the two scores of the day that were under-par.

"Pretty much every time I had to make a par save, I made it," Mullin said. "I played pretty solid; I only had a few mistakes."

Nick Williams, of New Braunfels, Texas, had three consecutive birdies on the front nine and finished second with a 1-under-par 70. Chance Pipitone, of Corpus Christi, Texas, playing in his first AJGA event, came in third place with a 72, three shots behind Mullin.

Stafford Gray, of Snyder, Texas, took fourth with a score of 73. Six players tied for fifth with a round of 74. Blake Caldwell, of Houston, Timothy Byrd, of Laplace, La., Ben Jackman, of College Station, Texas, Matteson Hamilton, of Houston, Steven O'Brien, of Kingwood, Texas, and Raul Lemus, of Mission, Texas, joined the field of the tournament that begins Wednesday.

With seven players tied at 76 and only four spots left, a two-hole playoff was needed to separate players for the remaining spots. James Han, of Carrollton, Texas, and Geoffrey VanHook, of Austin, Texas, qualified by making a par on the first hole. Garrett Merrell, of Dallas, and Brandon Burgoon, of The Woodlands, Texas, claimed the final two spots.

Christine Brijalba fought with personal inconsistency but managed to earn the Girls Division low round of the day. Her score of 8-over-par 80 was good enough for a one-shot victory.

"I just struggled to keep it together," Brijalba said. "It's kind of awkward (to be in the tournament) though. I didn't really expect to qualify, shooting an 80, but it happens. So, I'm playing."
Brijalba sprinkled three birdies into her round, which also contained six bogeys.

Stephanie Waters, of Austin, Texas, notched an 81, which put her in second place. To decide the final qualifier spot, Jennifer Crawford, of Sugar Land, Texas, and Lauren Dodge, of Montgomery, Texas went to the fifth hole of a playoff before Crawford won with a bogey.

The first round of the Randall Parker San Antonio Shootout presented by Parker's Express will begin at 7 a.m. on Wednesday. Tee times will continue until 1 p.m. For more information on the tournament, please call tournament headquarters at (800) 999-3299, ext. 181, locally, (830) 537-4611, ext. 181.

BOERNE, Texas - Results from the Randall Parker San Antonio Shootout presented by Parker's Express Qualifier conducted by the American Junior Golf Association at Tapatio Springs Golf Resort-Lakes/Valley Course. Par: Boys: 34-37-71 Girls: 35-37-72. Yardage: Boys: 6,453 Girls: 5,857

Michael Mullin, Austin, Texas 34-35-69
Nick Williams, New Braunfels, Texas 31-39-70
Chance Pipitone, Corpus Christi, Texas 35-37-72
Stafford Gray, Snyder, Texas 34-39-73
Ben Jackman, College Station, Texas 36-38-74
Blake Cardwell, Houston, Texas 38-36-74
Matteson Hamilton, Houston, Texas 39-35-74
Timothy Byrd, Laplace, La. 35-39-74
Steven O'Brien, Kingwood, Texas 35-39-74
Raul Lemus, Mission, Texas 36-38-74
Diego Velasquez, Granbury, Texas 38-37-75
Drew Zadow, Plano, Texas 41-34-75
Geoffrey VanHook, Austin, Texas 41-35-76*
Garrett Merrell, Dallas, Texas 36-40-76*
Brandon Burgoon, The Woodlands, Texas 38-38-76**
James Han, Carrollton, Texas 38-38-76**
Kyle Hickey, Austin, Texas 35-41-76
Tyler DeHay, Lubbock, Texas 38-38-76
Kevin Varrichio, Arlington, Texas 35-42-77
Alex Nordholm, Leawood, Kan. 35-42-77
Andrew Vaughn, McKinney, Texas 37-40-77
Weldon Martin, Houston, Texas 37-40-77
Carmine Mediate, Southlake, Texas 35-42-77
Connor Smith, Cedar Park, Texas 38-39-77
Brian Rode, Katy, Texas 40-37-77
Tanner Monroe, San Antonio, Texas 39-38-77
Cameron Nofi, Austin, Texas 36-41-77
Austin Schauer, Spring, Texas 38-39-77
Scott Martinez, Arlington, Texas 37-41-78
Peter Mosleh, Carrollton, Texas 38-40-78
Stetson Perez, Sonora, Texas 41-37-78
Richard Rogalewski, Austin, Texas 39-39-78
Josh Uptmore, Lorena, Texas 36-42-78
Matt Schneider, Pasadena, Texas 36-42-78
Zeke Reyna, Weslaco, Texas 41-38-79
Brian Sullivan, Austin, Texas 41-38-79
Andrew Meyers, Plano, Texas 39-40-79
Zach Strait, Bandera, Texas 41-38-79
Robert Mayo, Austin, Texas 39-41-80
Eunho Shin, Coppell, Texas 37-43-80
Cody Stripling, Garden Ridge, Texas 40-40-80
Jay Stevens, Buda, Texas 38-42-80
Sang Yi, Carrollton, Texas 38-42-80
Alvaro Gonzalez, McAllen, Texas 39-41-80
Brett Hickey, Austin, Texas 38-42-80
Brad Sumrall, Georgetown, Texas 42-39-81
Scot Schroeder, Pflugerville, Texas 39-42-81
Justin DuBose, Austin, Texas 41-40-81
Jimmy Wiese, Colleyville, Texas 39-42-81
Colin DuBois, Lewisville, Texas 39-42-81
Matthew Patterson, Tulsa, Okla. 43-38-81
Luis Lemus, Mission, Texas 41-41-82
Donald Buchanan, Heath, Texas 40-42-82
Brian Yawn, College Station, Texas 40-42-82
Ty Needels, San Antonio, Texas 40-42-82
Thomas Allen, Houston, Texas 40-42-82
Stewart Moore, Buda, Texas 41-41-82
Mitchell Boehnke, Lewisville, Texas 41-41-82
Dane Ehlert, Katy, Texas 44-38-82
Billy Privette, Colleyville, Texas 36-46-82
Juan Lascurain, San Antonio, Texas 39-43-82
Jeremy Miller, Moody, Texas 41-41-82
Sean Burch, Edinburg, Texas 43-40-83
Matt Tierney, Burlingame, Calif. 36-47-83
Zac Denison, Edmond, Okla. 41-42-83
Sean Bralley, San Antonio, Texas 41-42-83
Michael Ramirez, Austin, Texas 39-44-83
Nathan Reding, Lampasas, Texas 41-42-83
Jay Weaver, Snyder, Texas 41-43-84
Justin Kaplan, Houston, Texas 38-46-84
Brandon Pelletier, Flower Mound, Texas 41-44-85
Ryan Pierce, The Woodlands, Texas 42-43-85
Evan Thompson, Houston, Texas 42-43-85
Ryan Zenner, Fredericksburg, Texas 42-43-85
Eric Goerges, San Antonio, Texas 39-48-87
Jon-Charles Carpenter, San Antonio, Texas 45-42-87
Shane Pearce, Carrollton, Texas 42-45-87
Brian Mason, Dallas, Texas 40-48-88
Taylor Quillicy, Dallas, Texas 41-47-88
Samuel Risley, Richardson, Texas 44-44-88
Matthew Steitz, Houston, Texas 47-43-90
Justin Lavine, Sugar Land, Texas 48-42-90
Jonathan Fowler, College Station, Texas 42-48-90
Brent Pickrell, Austin, Texas 43-47-90
Patrick Shanahan, Austin, Texas 43-50-93
Marcus Pennington, The Woodlands, Texas 44-51-95
Christine Brijalba, El Paso, Texas 39-41-80
Stephanie Waters, Austin, Texas 39-42-81
Jennifer Crawford, Sugar Land, Texas 39-44-83***
Lauren Dodge, Montgomery, Texas 40-43-83
Emily Kvinta, Yoakum, Texas 40-46-86
Chelsea Boothe, Bedford, Texas 42-44-86
Alejandra Llaneza, Mexico City, Mexico 44-43-87
Daphne Vines, Austin, Texas 41-47-88
Lindsay Dye, San Antonio, Texas 40-52-92
Katherine Lenderman, San Antonio, Texas 44-49-93
Alana Maiello, Camarillo, Calif. 47-50-97
Megan O'Donnell, Houston, Texas 51-57-108

*Qualified on first playoff hole
**Qualified on second playoff hole
***Qualified on fifth playoff hole