LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
American Junior Golf Association American Junior Golf Association
TaylorMade-adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA adidas Golf TaylorMade Golf
Notice: AJGA National Headquarters will be closed on May 28 and will re-open on Tuesday, May 29 at 8 a.m. ET.
The Dominion Country Club
San Antonio, Texas • July 7 - 10

McCloskey carries five-shot lead into final round at The Dominion Country Club

SAN ANTONIO — Chris Worrell of Enid, Okla., fired his second straight round in the 60s, a 3-under-par 69, to take the lead at the Valero Texas Open Junior Shootout Wednesday. Lisa McCloskey of Montgomery, Texas, shot 2-under-par 70 to extend her lead in the Girls Division.

Conducted by the American Junior Golf Association, the Valero Texas Open Junior Shootout is a 54-hole stroke play event being held at The Dominion Country Club. The tournament field consists of 90 boys and 30 girls, ages 12 to 18, from 10 states, Washington D.C., Mexico and Venezuela. The Boys Division is playing the par-72 course at 6,849 yards, while the Girls Division is playing the course at 6,162 yards.

Worrell hit all 18 fairways and 14 greens resulting in 11 pars and five birdies. His best hole of the day came on No. 14 when he sank a 20 foot putt for birdie lowering his score to 2-under-par for the round. He has separated from the field by one shot with a 68-69—137 two-day total. Defending a one-stroke lead going into the final round will be a different feeling for Worrell.

“I've never lead an AJGA event,” Worrell said. “After the first couple holes you lose the jitters. Then you can try to make birdies happen. I just want to win to have some doors open up for me.”

In second place is Bobby Lee Robinson of Mesa, Ariz., at 6-under-par 138. In third place is Chandler Rusk of Edmond, Okla., at 5-under-par 139, followed by Ramon Trevino of Monterrey, Mexico, in fourth place at 3-under-par 141. Brenden Redfern of Austin, Texas, and Brad Lyle of Richardson, Texas, are tied for fifth place at 1-under-par 143.

In the Girls Division, McCloskey, 2006 Valero Texas Open Junior Shootout champion, is in position for another win through 36 holes of play. After three straight birdies on Nos. 5, 6 and 7, McCloskey made the turn at 4-under-par for the tournament. On the back nine she birdied Nos. 11 and 18 to sit at a 4-under-par 140 tournament total. With extensive final-round success, McCloskey just wants to score in the 60s tomorrow.

“I‘ve played AJGA for five years,” the Pepperdine University signee said. “I'm ready to move on, but on a very good note.”

Joining McCloskey on the leaderboard is Amy Ruengmateekhun of Garland, Texas, in second place shooting a two-day total 1-over-par 145. Mary Michael Maggio of Conway, Ark., is tied with Gabriella Dominguez of Chilton, Texas, in third place at 3-over-par 147.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The largest Association of its kind, the AJGA has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of more than 5,000 junior golfers from 49 states and more than 25 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, which is in its third decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Polo Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 160 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiled more than 300 wins. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Stewart Cink, Davis Love III, Cristie Kerr, Pat Hurst, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Morgan Pressel and Julieta Granada.

The final round of the Valero Texas Open Junior Shootout is Thursday, July 10 with tee times running off the No. 1 tee from 7 a.m. — 12:51 p.m. For more information please contact Tournament Headquarters at (210) 687-1133.