LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
American Junior Golf Association American Junior Golf Association
TaylorMade-adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA adidas Golf TaylorMade Golf
Srixon Qualifier Series
The Greenbrier - Meadows Course
White Sulphur Springs, W.Va. • August 28, 2008

Breed takes honors in the Girls Division at The Greenbrier

WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS, W. Va. — Bradley Graham, 17, of St. Catharines, Ontario, carded a 1-under-par 70 for the only under-par round of the tournament and medalist honors in the Boys Division in Thursday's Qualifier to earn a spot in the Woodward Video Junior at The Greenbrier. Elizabeth Breed, 16, of Waynesboro, Pa., carded a 7-over-par 78 to medal in the Girls Division.

Conducted by the American Junior Golf Association, the 18-hole stroke-play Qualifier featured players from 14 states and Canada. Fifty boys and five girls — ages 12-18 — tried to "play their way in" to the Woodward Video Junior at The Greenbrier or build their status within the AJGA's Performance Based Entry system. Thursday's Qualifier gave 13 boys and four girls the opportunity to play in the Woodward Video Junior at The Greenbrier, which begins Friday, August 29.

Graham's under-par efforts came amid weather that was less that pleasurable but he said the elements were not a factor.

“I kind of like the misty stuff. It's different from the humidity in Canada. It's cool,” Graham said.

Graham carded four birdies during his round on Nos. 5, 7, 10, and 12 and said his ball striking was on target for the day.

“I putted well today,” Graham said. “I was able to hit a lot of greens which set me up for some good putts.”

Thirteen boys also qualified for the Woodward Video Junior at The Greenbrier. They were: Michael Broft of Spring City, Pa., Richard Dearinger of Chapel Hill, N.C., Joseph Curley of Vienna, Va., Matthew Sizemore of Richmond, Va., Chris DiMaio of Morristown, N.J., Matt Fry of Bel Air, Md., Eric Steinberg of Somerset, N.J., David Denlinger of Lancaster, Pa., Hank Hanegraaff Jr., of Waxhaw, N.C., John Davies of Rye, N.Y., Jason Sugarman of Syosset, N.Y., and Justin Riley of Haymarket, Va.

In the Girls Division, Breed came into the event just looking to play well.

“I did not really expect anything,” Breed said. “I knew I could play well and I just didn't want to give it too much more thought.”

As for her play, Breed said her short game is what got her through.

“I only hit wedges to the greens today,” Breed said. “So I took advantage of that and got up and down to save par.”

Also qualifying in for the tournament were Hannah Kim of River Edge, N.J., Lisa Agoglia of Rockville Centre, N.Y., and Sindy Lee of McLean, Va.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

The largest Association of its kind, the AJGA has an annual junior membership — boys and girls ages 12-18 — of more than 5,000 junior golfers from 49 states and more than 25 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, which is in its third decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Polo Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 160 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiled more than 300 wins. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Stewart Cink, Davis Love III, Cristie Kerr, Pat Hurst, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Morgan Pressel and Julieta Granada.

The opening round of the Woodward Video Junior at The Greenbrier is Saturday, August 30 with tee times running off the first tee from 7:30 a.m. — 12:18 p.m. at The Greenbrier — Meadows Course. For more information about the Woodward Video Junior at The Greenbrier, please contact Tournament Director Adam Johnson at (678) 485-1135.