Winn Grips Heather Farr Classic hosted by Longbow Golf Club

Longbow Golf Club
Mesa, Ariz. April 17 - 20, 2014

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Past champions on TOUR
Of the 30 past champions, 27 earned Rolex Junior All-America accolades in the same year. Hunter Mahan (1999) and Paula Creamer (2003) were named Rolex Junior Player of the Year following wins at the Winn Grips Heather Farr Classic hosted by Longbow Golf Club. Both have gone on to have successful professional careers alongside Amanda Blumenherst (2002), world No.1-ranked female golfer Inbee Park(2005) Mina Harigae (2006), Kimberly Kim (2007) and 2013 LPGA Rookie of the Year Moriya Jutanugarn.
Success at home
Former Arizona residents who have found themselves in the winner’s circle include Amanda Blumenherst (2002), Drew Kittleson (2005), Philip Francis (2006), Kyung Kim (2008) and Lindsey Weaver (2012).
Former champion returns
Krystal Quihuis of Tuscon, Ariz., the 2013 champion of the Winn Grips Heather Farr Classic hosted by Longbow Golf Club, will return to defend her title. After her victory in 2013, Quihuis went on to earn spots on the West squad at the Wyndham Cup and the United States team at the PING Junior Solheim Cup, and collect Rolex Junior All-America honors.
Dramatic finish in 2013
In 2013, Danny Ochoa of San Diego, and Krystal Quihuis of Tucson, Ariz., earned titles in dramatic fashion. Ochoa fired a final-round 66, including an eagle on the final hole, to win by three strokes at 8-under-par. The Girls Division final came down to a three-hole sudden-death playoff with Quihuis defeating Esther Lee of Norwalk, Calif. Ochoa is a freshman at USC while Quihuis will return in 2014 to defend.
In honor of Heather Farr
Heather Farr was an Arizona native who saw the first days of the AJGA. She was victorious at the second-annual Polo Golf Junior Classic in 1979 and the 1982 Rolex Tournament of Champions. To recognize Farr’s accomplishments on the course, she earned Rolex Junior Player of the Year honors in 1980 and 1982 and was named a Rolex Junior All-American five times. A two-time All-American and three-time All-Conference performer at Arizona State University, Farr qualified for the LPGA Tour in October 1985 at the age of 20, becoming the youngest to do so at the time. In 1989, she was diagnosed with breast cancer at the age of 24. Farr was practicing for a comeback on Tour in the fall of 1990 when she discovered a reoccurrence of cancer in the back of her skull and on her vertebrae. Farr died November 20, 1993. Heather Farr has been recognized with many awards during her lifetime and posthumously. The LPGA Heather Farr Award has been given annually since her death honoring the player who exemplifies courage and persistence like Heather Farr. In 2013, she was inducted into the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame.

Schedule of Events

Thursday, April 17
7:30 a.m. shotgun Practice Round
Friday, April 18
7 – 8:40 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (1st wave)
11:30 a.m. – 1:10 p.m. First Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (2nd wave)
Saturday, April 19
7 – 8:40 a.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (1st wave)
11:30 a.m. – 1:10 p.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (2nd wave)
Sunday, April 20
7 – 9 a.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
2 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2013 Results

Winn Grips Heather Farr Classic hosted by Longbow Golf Club
Longbow Golf Club (March 28 - 31, 2013)
Boys Division
1 Danny Ochoa San Diego, Calif. 71–68–66—205
2 Christopher Petefish Danville, Calif. 71–69–68—208
3 Jacob Solomon Dublin, Calif. 75–67–67—209
4 Justin Kim Fullerton, Calif. 71–68–71—210
T5 Sean Crocker (Zimbabwe) Westlake Village, Calif. 69–75–67—211
T5 Franklin Huang Poway, Calif. 72–69–70—211
T5 Derek Castillo Yorba Linda, Calif. 69–69–73—211
Girls Division
1 *Krystal Quihuis Tucson, Ariz. 69–70–69—208
2 Esther Lee Norwalk, Calif. 69–69–70—208
T3 Lilia Vu Fountain Valley, Calif. 72–70–69—211
T3 Hannah O'Sullivan Chandler, Ariz. 71–70–70—211
5 Andrea Lee Hermosa Beach, Calif. 71–68–73—212
* Won via a sudden-death playoff

Media Accommodations

The Winn Grips Heather Farr Classic hosted by Longbow Golf Club will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, the American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.