Gateway Mortgage Group Tulsa Junior

Oaks Country Club
Tulsa, Okla. July 23 - 26, 2018

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

/ #GatewayJr
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Oaks Country Club welcomes AJGA for first time
Oaks Country Club is one of the oldest country clubs in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The country club was established in 1921 and designed by A.W. Tillinghast, a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum. Tillinghast believed that nature should dictate the lay of the golf course, which is why many of his courses fit the natural contour of the land. In 2014, a two-phase $7.2 million renovation plan was approved which included golf course renovations such as new greens, bunkers, additional tee boxes, improved cart paths and fairways.
Gateway Mortgage Group brings AJGA event back to Tulsa
One of the world's largest private mortgage lenders is bringing an AJGA event back to Tulsa for the first time in nearly a decade. As part of the company's "Gateway Gives Back" program, Gateway Mortgage Group signed on as the title sponsor of the event.
Eight AJGA champions and one Rolex Junior All-American highlight field
Eight AJGA champions are playing in the Gateway Mortgage Group Tulsa Junior. In addition to the champions, Hailey Jones of Dallas, Texas, is coming into the tournament as a Rolex Junior All-American.
AJGA 40th Anniversary
The AJGA opened its 40th year running junior golf tournaments in 2018. From Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods to Lexi Thompson and Paula Creamer, the AJGA has continued to provide opportunities to talented junior golfers into its fourth decade. Over the years, the AJGA has grown from a fledgling operation into a respected entity in the golf industry. Key achievements have included establishing the ACE Grant, which provides financial assistance to young men and women who aspire to earn a college golf scholarship through competitive junior golf. Other important programs which continue to this day: an industry-leading pace of play system, an unmatched tournament experience, sponsorship to keep costs low and value high for members, Junior-Am fundraising to give back to grassroots junior golf and fund tournament opportunities, a strict Code of Conduct policy, and a thank-you note writing program.

Schedule of Events

Monday, July 23
1:30 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, July 24
8 – 10 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 & 10 Tees
Wednesday, July 25
8 – 10 a.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 & 10 Tees
Thursday, July 26
8 – 10 a.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 & 10 Tees
2:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch

Media Accommodations

The Gateway Mortgage Group Tulsa Junior will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.