Newsmakers: June 10, 2008

Newsmakers: June 10, 2008

Amateur Roundup

The 55th Sunnehanna Amateur took place at the Sunnehanna Country Club in Johnstown, Pa., June 5-8. Rickie Fowler of Oklahoma State became the fourth player in history to win back-to-back titles at this event. Fowler was the only player to shoot all four rounds in the 60s and finished five strokes ahead of second-place finisher, Daniel Woltman of Kentucky. Zach Sucher of UAB will also go down is history for his record breaking 9-under-par 61, in the third round of the tournament.

Last season, Fowler was named a first-team All-American as a freshman at Oklahoma State. He received the Ben Hogan Award as top collegiate/amateur player and the Phil Mickelson Award as freshman of the year. He finished No. 1 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings and No. 3 in the Golfweek/Scratch Players World Amateur Rankings. Fowler will also be participating in the U.S. Open this week

Amanda Blumenherst

Lucy Nunn of the University of Arkansas won the Women’s Southern Amateur played at The Club of Kingwood June 2-6. She defeated Lindy Labauve 3 and 2 in the final round. Nunn follows fellow Arkansas teammate, Stacy Lewis, who won the event in 2007.

College Roundup

Amanda Blumenherst was named Golfweek’s College Player of the Year for the third consecutive season. Blumenherst, a junior at Duke, boasts an overall record of 985-15-6 in 11 events this season. She also finished No 1 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings and received NGCA Player of the Year honors for the third time.

Out of 50 players to receive Golfweek’s All-American Team honors, 38 were former AJGA players including:

First Team

Maria Hernandez, Jr., Purdue
Tiffany Joh, Jr., UCLA
Stacy Lewis, Sr., Arkansas
Azahara Munoz, Jr., Arizona St.
Belen Mozo, Soph., USC
Anna Nordqvist, Soph., Arizona St.
Jaclyn Sweeney, Fr., Oklahoma St.
Maria Jose Uribe, Fr., UCLA
Alison Walshe, Sr., Arizona

Second Team

Cydney Clanton, Fr., Auburn
Taylore Karle, Fr., Pepperdine
Pernilla Lindberg, Jr., Oklahoma State
Lizette Salas, Fr., USC
Caroline Westrup, Jr., Florida State
Jessica Yadloczky, Fr., Florida
Glory Yang, Fr., UCLA

Third Team

Sara Brown, Sr., Michigan State
Valentine Derrey, Soph., TCU
Kathleen Ekey, Jr., Alabama
Maude Aimee Leblanc, Fr., Purdue
Jennie Lee, Jr., Duke
Sydnee Michaels, Soph., UCLA
Whitney Myers, Sr., Florida
Benedicte Toumpsin, Soph., S. Carolina
Hannah Yun, Fr., Florida

Honorable Mention

Dori Carter, Jr., Mississippi
Tiffany Chudy, Sr., Florida
Mari Chun, Jr., Stanford
Katie Kempter, Jr., Denver
Laura Kueny, Soph., Michigan State
Jennifer Pandolfi, Sr., Duke
So-Hyun Park, Fr., Notre Dame
Ashley Rollins, Sr., Texas
Natalie Sheary, Fr., Wake Forest
Stephanie Sherlock, Soph., Denver
Marci Turner, Sr., Tennessee
Sarah Zwartynski, Fr., Texas A&M

Kevin Chappell of UCLA received several awards this season including the Golf Coaches Association of America’s Jack Nicklaus Award as national player of the year, and the Arnold Palmer Award, given to the medalist at the national championship.  He earned medalist honors at the NCAA Division I Men’s Championships, the Pac-10 Championships and the Ping Arizona Intercollegiate. Chappell was also named a first-team All-American.

Sixty players received Division I Ping All-American Honors including 50 former AJGA players. These formers players include:

First Team

Kevin Chappell, Sr., UCLA
Rickie Fowler, Fr., Oklahoma St.
Rory Hie, Soph., USC
Sihwan Kim, Fr., Stanford
Jamie Lovemark, Soph., USC
Webb Simpson, Sr., Wake Forest
Michael Thompson, Sr.,Alabama

Second Team

Chesson Hadley, Soph., Georgia Tech
Russell Henley, Fr., Georgia
Jonathan Hodge, Sr., Chattanooga
Billy Horschel, Sr., Florida
Adam Mitchell, Jr., Georgia
Ryan Spears, Sr., Wichita St.
Zach Sucher, Jr., UAB
Hudson Swafford, Soph., Georgia

Third Team

Harris English, Fr., Georgia
Derek Fathauer, Sr., Louisville
Erik Flores, Jr., UCLA
Aaron Goldberg, Sr., San Diego St.
Rob Grube, Sr., Stanford
Charlie Holland, Fr., Texas
Henrik Norlander, Fr., Augusta St.
Kevin O’Connell, Fr., North Carolina

Honorable Mention

James Allenby, Sr., Oregon St.
Mark Anderson, Sr., South Carolina
Chris Baker, Sr., Iowa St.
Joey Benedetti, Sr., Oregon
Ryan Brehm, Sr., Michigan St.
Matt Cook, Sr., Western Carolina
Ignacio Elvira, Fr., Texas A&M
Kevin Foley, Soph., Penn St.
Matthew Giles, Fr., USC
Tom Glissmeyer, Jr., USC
Matt Hill, Fr., N.C. St.
Jesper Kennegard, Fr., Arizona St.
Andrew Landry, Jr., Arkansas
Trent Leon, Jr., Oklahoma St.
David Markle, Sr., Kent St.
Michael McRae, Sr., St. Mary’s (Calif.)
Jason Millard, Fr., Middle Tennessee
Jay Moseley, Sr., Auburn
Corey Nagy, Soph., Charlotte
David Palm, Jr., San Diego St.
Andrew Putnam, Fr., Pepperdine
Adam Rainaud, Sr., Louisville
Kyle Stanley, Soph., Clemson
Matthew Swan, Jr., Alabama
Kevin Tway, Fr., Oklahoma St.
Mike Van Sickle, Jr., Marquette
Trent Whitekiller, Soph., Oklahoma St.






Premier Partners
Official Partners
Media Partners
Association Partner
Twitter Facebook AJGA Blog AJGA on Instagram AJGA on YouTube
Member Logins
Player, Coach and Alumni Login
Member ID:
Forgot your password?
Don't have a password?
Forgot your Member ID?
Not A Member or Need to Renew?
What every member should know
Learn the basics
Performance Based Entry
Leadership Links
ACE Grant financial aid
Polo Golf Rankings
1. Chun-an Yu
Taoyuan, --
2. Philip Barbaree
Shreveport, LA
3. Eugene Hong
Sanford, FL
4. Spencer Soosman
Westlake Village, CA
5. Davis Shore
Knoxville, TN
1. Hannah O'Sullivan
Chandler, AZ
2. Angel Yin
Arcadia, CA
3. Sierra Brooks
Sorrento, FL
4. Nelly Korda
Bradenton, FL
5. Mika Liu
Beverly Hills, CA
Complete Rankings

The Foundation

The American Junior Golf Foundation is the primary recipient of all charitable giving to the AJGA and as such administers a variety of programs designed to compliment the AJGA and the members and families who make up our community. Learn more about these important programs and how your contributions to the Foundation secure the AJGA’s financial future for future generations to come.
Donate Now
Planned Giving Program
Endow an ACE Grant
Annual Fund
ACE Grant


The Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program provides financial assistance to junior golfers who wish to play in AJGA events. Its goal is to give top-flight golf opportunities to young golfers regardless of financial resources. This program helps to fulfill the AJGA’s mission of developing young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Leadership Links

What is Leadership Links?

Leadership Links is a new program whereby the AJGA is able to further its mission to help develop young men and women by teaching charitable giving skills and service-oriented practices at an early age. This program gives juniors all the tools necessary to donate their time, talent and resources to local charities and the AJGA youth development programs. Please click here to learn more about the program and the different opportunities available.

Weekly Results
Polo Golf Junior Classic
S.M. Lee
Won Jun Lee
Matthew Wolff
Mariel Galdiano
Andrea Lee
Maria Hoyos
FJ Live Scoring
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and
development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.