Social Recap presented by True Temper

Social Recap presented by True Temper: August 25, 2021

Check out this week's highlights from the world of golf across social media
True Temper Social Recap Article Image 800x450.jpg

Professional Recap

After the conclusion of The Northern Trust, three more AJGA alumni were officially named to the 2021 US Ryder Cup team. Bryson DeChambeau, Brooks Koepka, and Justin Thomas automatically qualified for the team based on their place in the standings. The trio rounded out the top five and joined fellow alumni Collin Morikawa and Dustin Johnson who secured the top two spots, respectively.

DeChambeau only competed in one AJGA tournament as a junior golfer, finishing T10 at the 2009 Trader Joe's Junior Championship hosted by Pat Hurst. Koepka, a 2007 Rolex Junior All-American, won the 2005 Ashworth Junior at Highland Oaks. Thomas is the most decorated alumni of the three. The two-time Rolex Junior All-American won three AJGA tournaments, including the 2009 FootJoy Invitational.

AJGA alumna Anna Nordqvist earned her third Major title and first win since 2017 at the AIG Women's British Open. With the win, Nordqvist became the first non-American woman to win majors in three different decades and she joined Annika Sorenstam and Laura Davies as the only European women to win as many as three Majors.

Nordqvist competed in three AJGA events as a junior golfer, all of which took place in 2005. She finished T22 at the Thunderbird International Junior and T5 at the Polo Golf Junior Classic. She also competed on behalf of Team Europe at the PING Junior Solheim Cup. Nordqvist will make her seventh Solheim Cup appearance for Europe in less than two weeks when she tees it up at Inverness Club.

Best of the Rest