Rolex Girls Junior Championship
Main Schedule Field Tee Times Leaderboard
Rolex Girls Junior Championship

Second-Round at the Rolex Girls Junior Championship

Shepherd heads to R2 with the lead<br>
Rolex On Course Signage - 2019 - Rolex Girls Junior Championship (9) - website.jpg

Due to unplayable course conditions because of weather on Wednesday, June 12th, the second and third rounds are now both on Thursday, June 13th. Players were repaired based on first-round scores and will play in those pairings during both rounds today.

Pairings to watch during the Second and Third Round

9:20 am off No. 1 - Erica Shepherd of Greenwood, Indiana, Sophia Bae of Norwood, New Jersey and Lei (Angelina) Ye of Bradenton, Florida
· Shepherd jumped out to an early lead on Tuesday, carding seven birdies through her first 11 holes for a 7-under-par 65 first round.
· Bae and Ye are only three strokes out of the lead at 4-under-par 68. Bae and Ye’s six birdies during round one have them atop the leaderboard heading into rounds two and three today.

9:10am off No. 1 – Amari Avery of Riverside, California, Catherine Park of Irvine, California and Jinyu Wu of Bradenton, Florida.
· Avery is a current Rolex Junior All-American, sitting at tied for second. Avery had five birdies on the day, which carried her to a 4-under-par 68 opening round.
· Park and Wu are both tied for fifth at 3-under-par 69. Park on Tuesday eagled the par 5 No. 18.

8:30 am off No. 1 – Megan Furtney of South Elgin, Illinois, Brooke Seay of Rancho Santa Fe, California and Rachel Kuehn of Asheville, North Carolina
· Furtney and Seay currently sit tied for 12th at 1-under-par 71. Both 2019 high school graduates each of them are signed to play college golf; Furtney at Duke University and Seay at Stanford University.
· Kuehn, the 2018 AJGA Player Representative, is tied for 18th at even-par 72.

About the field
· 17 current Rolex Junior All-Americans
· 46 AJGA Champions including 2017 Rolex Girls Junior Championship champion, Rachel Heck of Memphis, Tennessee.
· 41 total players committed to play college golf
· 22 total states and six countries represented in the field

About the course
The Golf Club at Briar’s Creek is a first-time host of the Rolex Girls Junior Championship. The golf course located on 800 acres of Johns Island was designed by famed golf course architect Rees Jones. Jones designed seven US Open sites, nine PGA Championship courses, two Walker Cup venues and six Ryder Cup venues.

Experience in top AJGA Girls events
· 44 competed in the ANNIKA Invitational USA presented by Rolex
· 32 played in the Buick Shanshan Feng Girls Invitational
· 30 have competed in the ANA Junior Inspiration
· There are 46 first time Rolex Girls Junior Championship participants

10 of the Top 25 players in the Rolex Top 25 AJGA Rankings
3 Alexa Pano of Lake Worth, Florida
5 Erica Shepherd
6 Bohyun Park of Farmers Branch, Texas
7 Amanda Sambach of Davidson, North Carolina
8 Rachel Heck
10 Lucy Li
21 Lei (Angelina) Ye
23 Jiarui (Joyce) Jin of Encinitas, California
24 Jensen Castle of West Columbia, South Carolina
25 Caroline Curtis of Richmond, Virginia

Tournament Schedule

Thursday, June 13 -
· 7:30 am to 9:23 am – Second Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
· 1:00pm to 2:53 pm – Third Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees.

Friday, June 14 -
· 8:00 am to 9:50 am – Final Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
· 3:00 pm – Awards Ceremony

Follow along on social with our hashtag, #RolexGirls or visit

About Rolex
An unrivalled reputation for quality and expertise
Rolex, a Swiss watch manufacture headquartered in Geneva, is recognized the world over for its expertise and the quality of its products. Its Oyster Perpetual and Cellini watches, all certified as Superlative Chronometers for their precision, performance and reliability, are symbols of excellence, elegance and prestige. The word “Perpetual” is inscribed on every Rolex Oyster. But more than just a word on a dial, it is a philosophy that embodies the company’s vision and values. Hans Wilsdorf, the founder of the company, instilled a notion of perpetual excellence that would drive the company forward. This led Rolex to pioneer the development of the wristwatch and numerous major watchmaking innovations, such as the Oyster, the first waterproof wristwatch, launched in 1926, and the Perpetual rotor self-winding mechanism, invented in 1931. Rolex has registered over 500 patents in the course of its history. A truly integrated and independent manufacturing company, Rolex designs, develops and produces in-house the essential components of its watches, from the casting of the gold alloys to the machining, crafting, assembly and finishing of the movement, case, dial and bracelet. Furthermore, Rolex is actively involved in supporting the arts and culture, sport and exploration, as well as those who are devising solutions to preserve the planet.

About the American Junior Golf Association

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 7,200 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.