2006 Canon Cup Teams Announced

The American Junior Golf Association announced the 2006 Canon Cup Teams Tuesday. The first eight players for each team were named as of the AJGA Rankings June 30, 2006. The remaining two spots on each team were then filled in with the two highest players not yet named after the conclusion of the Rolex Tournament of Champions Sunday.

The 17th annual Canon Cup pits the top-10 boys and the top-10 girls east of the Mississippi against their counterparts from west of the Mississippi. In 2006, the Canon Cup Teams were named strictly off of the AJGA Rankings, eliminating the need for Captain’s Picks.  Canon Cup will return to Conway Farms Golf Club in Lake Forest, Ill., after being hosted there in 2002.

Rickie Fowler

This year, the teams are evenly matched and the competition will be fierce. The No. 1 player on the Canon Cup West Boys Squad is Rickie Fowler of Murrieta, Calif. The 2007 graduate’s stellar year helped him earn this honor. He won the 2005 Western Junior Amateur and had five additional top-five finishes. This will be Fowler’s first Canon Cup. Joining Fowler on the West Boys Team will be Kyle Stanley of Gig Harbor, Wash., Tadd Fujikawa of Honolulu, Josh Jones of The Colony, Texas, Andrew Yun of Tacoma, Wash., Richard Lee of Chandler, Ariz., Kevin Tway of Edmond, Okla., Gregor Main of Danville, Calif., Drew Kittleson also of Scottsdale., and Cody Gribble of Dallas. Stanley and Kittleson are the only veteran members of the team, both having been members in 2005.

Esther Choe

An experienced West Girls Team looks to continue their dominance shown at last year’s tournament. Esther Choe of Scottsdale, will headline the team. After her victory at the 2006 Rolex Girls Junior Championship and some near misses during the 2006 season, Choe hopes to help her team defend their title. Choe will be joined by fellow 2005 Canon Cup West Team members Taylore Karle of Scottsdale, Mina Harigae of Monterey, Calif., Sydney Burlison of Salinas, Calif., and Jane Rah of Torrance, Calif. New to the team in 2006 are Stephanie Kono of Honolulu, Kimberly Kim of Pahoa, Hawaii, Mindy Kim of Diamond Bar, Calif., Sydnee Michaels of Temecula, Calif., and Tiffany Lua of Rowland Heights, Calif.

Peter Uihlein

Countering the West Boys Team is the East Boys Squad led by Peter Uihlein of Bradenton, Fla. Uihlein was named the 2005 Rolex Junior Player of the Year after his performance last year. He finished the year with two wins (Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail Junior and the Bobby Chapman). He continued his momentum into the 2006 season winning the season-opening AJGA Craig Ranch Junior. In the past year, Uihlein has had four second-place finishes and eight additional top-10 finishes. Uihlein, also a member of the 2005 Canon Cup East Team, will be joined by Arnond Vongvanij of Bradenton, Bud Cauley of Jacksonville, Fla., David Yujin Chung of Fayetteville, N.C., Mu Hu of Celebration, Fla., Spencer Cole of Greer, S.C., Lion Kim and Ji Moon of Lake Mary, Fla., Tommy Chung Hao Mou also of Bradenton, and Patrick Reed of Baton Rouge, La. Vongvanij, Chung, Hu and Kim were all members of the 2005 team.

Isabelle Lendl

The East Girls Team will have their work cut out for them as only two members of last year’s team will be returning. Although she didn’t participate last year, Isabelle Lendl of Bradenton, is no stranger to match-play competition. In 2005 Lendl made it to the semifinals of the Polo Golf Junior Classic before losing to Harigae 2 and 1. She also earned a victory at the AJGA’s first Invitational of the year at the Thunderbird International Junior. The experience of two additional victories and eight more top-10 finishes will prove useful during the event. Joining her will be In-Kyung Kim of Marriotsville, Md., Megan Grehan of Mamaroneck, N.Y., Vicky Hurst of Melbourne, Fla., So-Hyun Park of Bradenton, Michelle Grilli of Luthersville, Md., Natalie Sheary of West Hartford, Conn., Joy Kim of Duluth, Ga., Kristina Wong of Vestal, N.Y., and Marika Lendl of Bradenton. Grehan and Marika Lendl are the lone returning players from 2005.



Premier Partners
Official Partners
Media Partners
Association Partner
Twitter Facebook AJGA Blog AJGA on Instagram AJGA on YouTube
Member Logins
Player, Coach and Alumni Login
Member ID:
Forgot your password?
Don't have a password?
Forgot your Member ID?
Not A Member or Need to Renew?
What every member should know
Learn the basics
Performance Based Entry
Leadership Links
ACE Grant financial aid
Polo Golf Rankings
1. Chun-an Yu
Taoyuan, --
2. Philip Barbaree
Shreveport, LA
3. Eugene Hong
Sanford, FL
4. Spencer Soosman
Westlake Village, CA
5. Davis Shore
Knoxville, TN
1. Hannah O'Sullivan
Chandler, AZ
2. Angel Yin
Arcadia, CA
3. Sierra Brooks
Sorrento, FL
4. Nelly Korda
Bradenton, FL
5. Mika Liu
Beverly Hills, CA
Complete Rankings

The Foundation

The American Junior Golf Foundation is the primary recipient of all charitable giving to the AJGA and as such administers a variety of programs designed to compliment the AJGA and the members and families who make up our community. Learn more about these important programs and how your contributions to the Foundation secure the AJGA’s financial future for future generations to come.
Donate Now
Planned Giving Program
Endow an ACE Grant
Annual Fund
ACE Grant


The Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program provides financial assistance to junior golfers who wish to play in AJGA events. Its goal is to give top-flight golf opportunities to young golfers regardless of financial resources. This program helps to fulfill the AJGA’s mission of developing young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Leadership Links

What is Leadership Links?

Leadership Links is a new program whereby the AJGA is able to further its mission to help develop young men and women by teaching charitable giving skills and service-oriented practices at an early age. This program gives juniors all the tools necessary to donate their time, talent and resources to local charities and the AJGA youth development programs. Please click here to learn more about the program and the different opportunities available.

Weekly Results
Polo Golf Junior Classic
S.M. Lee
Won Jun Lee
Matthew Wolff
Mariel Galdiano
Andrea Lee
Maria Hoyos
FJ Live Scoring
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and
development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.