Committee Awards Presented during Digger Smith Banquet

Committee Awards Presented during Digger Smith Awards Banquet
Solheim to receive Digger Smith Award at the 2008 PING Invitational

The American Junior Golf Association held its annual Digger Smith Awards Banquet during its Annual Meeting Friday, Feb. 29. Throughout the night, numerous awards were presented to tournament committee members who have gone above and beyond their call of duty to ensure the best tournament experience for all AJGA juniors and their families.

The Dalhousie Junior Championship received Tournament of the Year honors.

PING Chairman and CEO John Solheim was recognized as the winner of this year's Digger Smith Award, but was unable to attend the event due to illness. Solheim will be formally given the award during the 2008 PING Invitational held at Karsten Creek Golf Club Oct. 10-13. Solheim and his family's company, PING, have been longtime supporters of junior golf and the AJGA.

The Digger Smith Award, which has been presented annually since 1991, praises an AJGA advocate for his/her longtime service and dedication to junior golf. Recipients are devoted to the AJGA Mission and Purpose of developing young men and women through competitive junior golf. Award winners not only set a standard for excellence, but they also continue to raise expectations year-in and year-out.

The award is named in honor of current AJGA Chairman of the Board J.R. “Digger” Smith, who has dedicated himself to the AJGA and junior golf for more than three decades.

Each year during the Annual Meeting’s Digger Smith Awards Banquet – named after AJGA Chairman of the Board Jordan R. “Digger” Smith – the AJGA presents awards to the tournaments with the best individual media coverage, junior-am fundraising tournament, volunteer support base and hospitality. At this time the Association also recognizes its golf professional of the year, new tournament of the year, most improved tournament of the year, AJGA Invitational of the year, and overall tournament of the year.

C.A. Roberts, Cord Dombrowski, Andy Deiro and Kris Strauss were honored for their efforts Friday night.

Solheim and PING have sponsored 50 tournaments in AJGA history. The first event was the 1990 PING Myrtle Beach Junior Classic, which ran for 12 consecutive years. The next year, the PING Phoenix Junior appeared for the first time on the AJGA schedule, where it can still be found today. These 50 events have provided more than 4,600 playing opportunities for juniors.

Recently, the PING Junior Solheim Cup (2002) and The PING Invitational (2006) were added to the AJGA schedule. Solheim was the main catalyst in the creation of both of these elite junior golf events and continues to be involved with all of the AJGA’s PING-sponsored events.

Solheim became President of PING in 1995, 36 years after his father, Karsten Solheim, founded the company in his garage. He was named Chairman and CEO in 1999.

The Phoenix-based company designs, manufactures and markets a complete line of golf equipment including metal woods, irons, putters and golf bags. PING game-improvement products can be found in more than 70 countries. For more information, visit

2008 Annual Meeting Digger Smith Awards Banquet
Award Winners

Media Award – Kris Strauss (OB Sports)

Volunteer Award– FootJoy Invitational (Greensboro, N.C.)

Hospitality Award – Thunderbird International Junior (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Junior-Am Award – PING Junior at The Woodlands (The Woodlands, Texas)

Charitable Giving Award – Birks & Mayors Junior Championship at Mirasol (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.)

Golf Professional of the Year Award – Billy Dettlaff (TPC Sawgrass, Ponte Vedra, Fla.)

Most Improved Tournament Award – Fidelity Investments Junior Classic (Marblehead, Mass.)

Newcomer of the Year Award – Bass Pro Shops/Payne Stewart Junior Championship (Springfield, Mo.)

Tournament of Year Award – Dalhousie Junior Championship (Cape Girardeau, Mo.)

Invitational of the Year Award – The PING Invitational (Stillwater, Okla.)

Digger Smith Award – John A. Solheim (PING Chairman and CEO)

Premier Partners
Official Partners
Media Partners
Association Partner
Twitter Facebook AJGA Blog AJGA on Instagram AJGA on YouTube
Member Logins
Player, Coach and Alumni Login
Member ID:
Forgot your password?
Don't have a password?
Forgot your Member ID?
Not A Member or Need to Renew?
What every member should know
Learn the basics
Performance Based Entry
Leadership Links
ACE Grant financial aid
Polo Golf Rankings
1. Chun-an Yu
Taoyuan, --
2. Philip Barbaree
Shreveport, LA
3. Eugene Hong
Sanford, FL
4. Spencer Soosman
Westlake Village, CA
5. Davis Shore
Knoxville, TN
1. Hannah O'Sullivan
Chandler, AZ
2. Angel Yin
Arcadia, CA
3. Sierra Brooks
Sorrento, FL
4. Nelly Korda
Bradenton, FL
5. Mika Liu
Beverly Hills, CA
Complete Rankings

The Foundation

The American Junior Golf Foundation is the primary recipient of all charitable giving to the AJGA and as such administers a variety of programs designed to compliment the AJGA and the members and families who make up our community. Learn more about these important programs and how your contributions to the Foundation secure the AJGA’s financial future for future generations to come.
Donate Now
Planned Giving Program
Endow an ACE Grant
Annual Fund
ACE Grant


The Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program provides financial assistance to junior golfers who wish to play in AJGA events. Its goal is to give top-flight golf opportunities to young golfers regardless of financial resources. This program helps to fulfill the AJGA’s mission of developing young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Leadership Links

What is Leadership Links?

Leadership Links is a new program whereby the AJGA is able to further its mission to help develop young men and women by teaching charitable giving skills and service-oriented practices at an early age. This program gives juniors all the tools necessary to donate their time, talent and resources to local charities and the AJGA youth development programs. Please click here to learn more about the program and the different opportunities available.

Weekly Results
Polo Golf Junior Classic
S.M. Lee
Won Jun Lee
Matthew Wolff
Mariel Galdiano
Andrea Lee
Maria Hoyos
FJ Live Scoring
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and
development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.