AJGA Alumni in the 2019 Arnold Palmer Cup

18 AJGA alumni took part in the 2019 Arnold Palmer Cup at The Alotian Club.

The International Team has won their first Arnold Palmer Cup trophy since 2016 and became the first visiting team to win in the United States since 2009. Team International secured their win Sunday, June 10th after claiming 13 of the 24 points left in the tournament to end with a total score of 33.5-26.5. AJGA alumni, Agathe Laisne was the first International player to win Sunday, defeating fellow alumni Jennifer Chang 3-and-1. The United States still leads the overall series 12-10-1.

Pre-Tournament Notes:
The top men’s and women’s collegiate golfers are set to compete at the 2019 Arnold Palmer Cup at The Alotian Club in Roland, Arkansas, on June 7-9. A total of 48 amateurs will represent Team United States and Team International with 12 males and 12 females playing per team. These selected individuals will face off in mixed fourball, foursome and single matches throughout the three-day tournament. The U.S. will play to defend it's title, as they have retained 13 out-of-the 22 contests since the start of the event in 1997.

Of those 48 players selected to compete, 18 of them have participated in AJGA events as part of their junior golf experience.

Prior to the event, each participant will select a member of each team who best represents the values of the “Arnold Palmer Legacy”. The individual(s) with the most nominations will receive an invitation to the PGA TOUR's Arnold Palmer Invitational & LPGA Tour's Evian Championship through exemptions.

Notable AJGA alumni participating in the 2019 Arnold Palmer Cup include:

Kaitlyn Papp, Austin, Texas
Papp, a five-time Rolex Junior All-American, won three AJGA events and carded 27 top-ten finishes throughout her junior career. The University of Texas at Austin sophomore has won many honors and awards throughout her two years as a Longhorn including, WGCA All-America, Golfweek All America, Big 12 Player of the Year, Big 12 Freshman of the Year, All-Big 12 Conference and Big 12 All-Tournament Team. Papp placed sixth at the Division I NCAA Championship and is a returner of last year’s victorious Palmer Cup U.S. team.

Cole Hammer, Houston, Texas
Hammer was a three-time Rolex Junior All-American throughout his involvement with the AJGA. He placed first at the Junior All-Star at Watters Creek in 2015 and became the third youngest player to compete in the U.S. Open at the age of 15. The University of Texas at Austin freshman is 18-2 in match play since the beginning of the 2018 U.S. Junior Amateur and was on the Haskins Award and Ben Hogan Award Watch lists this season.

Hailee Cooper, Montgomery, Texas
During her time with the AJGA, Cooper was a five-time Rolex Junior All-American from 2013-2017, and carded 24 top-ten finishes, six of which she won. The University of Texas at Austin freshman finished in eighth at the NCAA Championship and was a Team U.S. committee selectee for this year's Palmer Cup.

Chandler Phillips, Huntsville, Texas
Throughout his AJGA career, Phillips won two events while adding three additional top-five finishes. The Texas A&M University senior was First-Team PING All-American and named First-Team ALL-SEC performer during the 2017-2018 season. Phillips currently holds the Texas A&M record for career tournament wins with six, as well as the best single-season stroke average, 70.85, which he set as a sophomore. Phillips is the first American to play in three Arnold Palmer Cups.

Emilia Migliaccio, Cary, North Carolina
The four-time Rolex Junior All-American won five AJGA events and was a 3-year member of the Wyndham Cup East Team. The Wake Forest University sophomore was named Second-Team WGCA All-American and qualified for the 2018 U.S. Women’s Open.

A full list of the18 AJGA alumni selected to compete at the 2019 Arnold Palmer Cup is shown below:

Team United States:
Abbey Carlson, Lake Mary, Florida
Brandon Wu, Danville, California
Chandler Phillips, Huntsville, Texas
Jennifer Chang, Cary, North Carolina
John Augenstein, Owensboro, Kentucky
Mariel Galdiano, Pearl City, Hawaii
Patrick Martin, Birmingham, Alabama
Stephanie Lau, Fullerton, California
Will Grimmer, Cincinnati, Ohio
William Gordon, Davidson, North Carolina

Team International:
Agathe Laisne, Paris, France
Frida Kinhult, Fiskebackskil, Sweden
Luis Gagne, Orlando, Florida (Costa Rica)