2008 Tournament Awards Announced

BRASELTON, Ga. — The American Junior Golf Association has announced its 2008 Tournament Award recipients. Ten separate tournament committees and individuals have been honored for exemplary performances during the 2008 AJGA Tournament Season.

Each year the AJGA presents awards to the tournaments with the best individual media coverage, junior-am fundraising tournament, volunteer support base and hospitality. The AJGA also recognizes its golf professional of the year, new tournament of the year, most improved event, AJGA Invitational of the year, and overall tournament of the year.

Check below for more information on each of the individual awards or contact the AJGA Communications Department at (770) 868-4200.

2008 AJGA Tournament Awards

Media Award – Doug Padgett (Rolex Tournament of Champions Newburgh, Ind.)

Volunteers – PING Invitational (Stillwater Okla.)

Hospitality Award – The Cliffs Championship (Salem, S.C.)

Junior-Am Award – Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior (Ashland, Ky.)

Charitable Giving Award – Rolex Tournament of Champions (Newburgh, Ind.)

Golf Professional of the Year Award – Mike Summa (The Stanwich Club, Greenwich, Conn.)

Most Improved Tournament Award – SAP Junior Open (Avon, Ohio)

Newcomer of the Year Award – ClubCar Junior Hosted by Charles Howell III (Evans, Ga.)

Tournament of Year Award – Dalhousie Junior Championship (Cape Girardeau, Mo.)

Invitational of the Year Award – Junior PLAYERS Championship