39 AJGA Alumni Qualify For Olympics


By Laura Fellwock (@AJGAFellwock), AJGA Communications

With just one month before the Olympics, the International Golf Federation (IGF) has announced the golfers qualified to play in the games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Thirty-nine of the 120 players who have qualified to play in golf’s first appearance in the Olympics in 112 years are AJGA alumni.

According to the IGF, “the IOC has restricted the IGF to an Olympic field of 60 players for each of the men’s and women’s competition. The IGF will utilize the official world golf rankings to create the Olympic golf rankings as a method of determining eligibility. The top-15 world-ranked players will be eligible for the Olympics, with a limit of four players from a given country. Beyond the top-15, players will be eligible based on the world rankings, with a maximum of two eligible players from each country that does not already have two or more players among the top-15.”

The following AJGA alumni are qualified to participate:


Argentina—Emiliano Grillo

Belgium—Nicolas Colsaerts

Canada—David Hearn, Graham DeLaet

Japan—Yuta Ikeda

Mexico—Rodolfo Cazaubón

New Zealand—Danny Lee

Paraguay—Fabrizio Zanotti

South Africa—Brandon Stone

South Korea—Byeong-Hun An

Spain—Sergio Garcia

Taiwan—Cheng-Tsung Pan

United States—Rickie Fowler, Matt Kuchar, Patrick Reed, Bubba Watson



Australia—Minjee Lee

Brazil—Miriam Nagl

Canada—Brooke Henderson, Alena Sharp

Colombia—Mariajo Uribe

Denmark—Nicole Larsen

Hong Kong—Tiffany Chan

India—Aditi Ashok

Ireland—Stephanie Meadow

Israel—Laetitia Beck

Malaysia—Kelly Tan

Mexico—Alejandra Llaneza, Gaby Lopez

Paraguay—Julieta Granada

South Africa—Ashleigh Simon

South Korea—Inbee Park

Spain—Azahara Munoz

Sweden—Pernilla Lindberg, Anna Nordqvist

Taiwan—Candie Kung

Thailand—Ariya Jutanugarn

United States—Stacy Lewis, Lexi Thompson