AJGA alumni comprise Presidents Cup team


Since the AJGA’s inception in 1978, the Association’s mission has always been to develop young men and women and give them exposure for college golf scholarships. In doing so, the AJGA has prepared thousands of juniors for college golf, and many AJGA alumni have gone on to make a career out of the game.

This week, 12 of those alums will compete in Australia. When the U.S. Presidents Cup team was selected, there was one thing all 12 members had in common. All 12 are AJGA alumni. With AJGA appearances ranging from 1982-2004, the team accounts for 206 AJGA starts.

Even in their junior days, they were the best of the best, and as a team accumulated 24 nods as Rolex Junior All-Americans. Tiger Woods, Bubba Watson and Webb Simpson lead the group, each having earned the honor four times.

Three of the team members were even named Rolex Junior Player of the Year during their tenure with the AJGA. Phil Mickelson was honored three times (1986-1988), while Woods earned Rolex Junior Player of the Year honors twice (1991-1992). Hunter Mahan was the Player of the Year in 1999.

To get the latest on the happenings in Australia, click here for Golfweek's coverage.