AJGA Juniors Poised for U.S. Amateur Run

Thirty-four current AJGA members will help comprise the 312-player field at the 2008 U.S. Amateur at Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, the AJGA announced Monday.

The first and second rounds of stroke play qualifying are set for Monday and Tuesday (Aug. 18-19) at Pinehurst Resort’s No. 2 and No. 4 courses. All match play rounds will be played at the No. 2 course, beginning Wednesday (Aug. 20).

Headlining the AJGA contingent are first-team Rolex Junior All-Americans Peter Uihlein of Bradenton, Fla., Morgan Hoffmann of Saddlebrook, N.J., and David Chung of Fayetteville, N.C.

Cameron Peck of Olympia, Wash., winner of two 2008 AJGA Invitationals and the U.S. Junior Amateur, will make the drive over to Pinehurst from Greensboro, N.C., where he was selected as a Sponsor’s Exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Wyndham Championship.

Additional AJGA members in the field include: Byeong-hun An (Seoul, South Korea), Spencer Anderson (Pacific Palisades, Calif.), Anton Arboleda (La Canada, Calif.), Blayne Barber (Lake City, Fla.), Evan Beck (Virginia Beach, Va.), Zahkai Brown (Arvada, Colo.), Lorens Chan (Honolulu), Eduardo Chavez (Hillsborough, Calif.), Austin Cody (N. Charleston, S.C.), Kyle English (Bloomington, Ill.), Michael Genovese (Pensacola, Fla.), Stewart Hagestad (Newport Beach, Calif.), Paul Hammerschmidt (Westerville, Ohio), Mu Hu (Shen Zhen, China), Josh Jones (The Colony, Texas), Devin Komline (Dorset, Vt.), Kyle Kopsick (Lake Bluff, Ill.), Hyun Seok Lim (La Palma, Calif.), Max McKay (St. Augustine, Fla.), Mac McLaughlin (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Cheng-Tsung Pan (Upland, Calif.), Brinson Paolini (Virginia Beach, Va.), Anthony Paolucci (Dallas), Crawford Reeves (Greenville, S.C.), David Sanders (Mt. Laurel, N.J.), Trent Sanders (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Aaron Siekman (Dublin, Ohio), Sam Smith (Turlock, Calif.), Michael Sorenson (Hartland, Wis.), and Minghao Wang (Reunion, Fla.).