Biltmore Forest Country Club set to host AJGA Invitational


Biltmore Forest Country Club will host 72 of the world’s top female junior golfers at the Rolex Girls Junior Championship for the first time, June 12-16. Since the Rolex Girls Junior Championship began in 1992, many prominent collegiate and professional golfers have competed in the tournament. Past champions include LPGA Tour current and former players such as Kellee Booth, Aree Song, Naree Song, Brittany Lang, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Julieta Granada, Morgan Pressel, Ariya Jutanugarn and Alison Lee. Ten former champions won the Rolex Girls Junior Championship en route to being named a Rolex Junior Player of the Year.

The last time the AJGA visited Biltmore Forest Country Club was the 2001 Wyndham Cup. This year, 46 AJGA champions will compete at the tournament including the 2014 and 2016 Rolex Girls Junior Championship winners: Elizabeth Wang of San Marino, California, and Gina Kim of Chapel Hill, North Carolina. The field of 72 girls have combined for 83 total AJGA victories in their careers. In addition, the tournament field includes 24 Rolex Junior All-Americans, including the 2016 Rolex Junior Player of the Year, Paphangkorn Tavatanakit of Thailand.

Tee times for all rounds of the Rolex Girls Junior Championship will run from 7:30 – 11:20 a.m. off the No. 1 tee at Biltmore Forest Country Club in Asheville, North Carolina, June 13-16.

About Rolex

Rolex, the leading brand of the Swiss watch industry, is headquartered in Geneva and enjoys an unrivalled reputation for quality and expertise the world over. Its Oyster watches, all certified as Superlative Chronometers for their precision, performance and reliability, are symbols of excellence, elegance and prestige. Founded by Hans Wilsdorf in 1905, the brand pioneered the development of the wristwatch and is at the origin of numerous major watchmaking innovations, such as the Oyster, the first waterproof wristwatch, launched in 1926, and the Perpetual rotor self-winding mechanism invented in 1931. Rolex has registered over 400 patents in the course of its history. A truly integrated and independent manufacturing company, Rolex designs, develops and produces all the essential components of its watches in-house, from the casting of the gold alloys to the machining, crafting, assembly and finishing of the movement, case, dial and bracelet. Rolex is also actively involved in supporting the arts, sports, exploration, the spirit of enterprise, and the environment through a broad palette of sponsoring activities as well as philanthropic programmes.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,600 members from 50 states and 55 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade-adidas Golf became the AJGA’s National Sponsor in 2016 after more than 25 years of support. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2017, adidas joined the AJGA as a Premier Partner, serving as the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 830 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Zach Johnson, Justin Thomas, Stacy Lewis, Ariya Jutanugarn, Alison Lee, Lexi Thompson, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Cristie Kerr and Morgan Pressel.