Coach Ryan Hybl leads OU to NCAA Title


The Oklahoma University men’s golf team celebrated the 2017 NCAA National Championship over the University of Oregon on May 31. The Sooners’ championship lineup included strong ties to the AJGA, with all five players combining for 83 AJGA appearances.

Head coach Ryan Hybl was an AJGA star in his own right. Hybl was named Rolex Junior Player of the Year in 1998 and served as a Player Representative on the AJGA Board of Directors in 1999. Hybl returned to complete the AJGA Internship after his college playing days at the University of Georgia and was hired as an AJGA tournament director in June 2004. After running AJGA tournaments for more than a year, Hybl moved on to the college coaching ranks.

Oklahoma’s championship lineup, consisting of Brad Dalke, Blaine Hale, Grant Hirschman, Max McGreevy and Rylee Reinertson, each competed in at least eight AJGA tournaments, led by Dalke’s 33. Dalke, a five-time Rolex Junior All-American, clinched the 3-1-1 team victory with a 2 and 1 win. Dalke made headlines by committing to Oklahoma University as a 12-year-old, prior to winning three Invitationals during his storied AJGA career.

McGreevy (3 and 2) and Hale (4 and 3) notched the other two points for the Sooners. Both had AJGA wins during their junior careers, McGreevy in 2012 and Hale in 2014.

Oregon’s lineup also included all AJGA alumni. Freshman Norman Xiong was a three-time Rolex Junior All-American and five-time AJGA champion. Wyndham Clark was a two-time AJGA champion while competing with the AJGA from 2007-12.