Creamer Named Winner of Sixth Annual Nancy Lopez Award

STOCKBRIDGE, GA - Paula Creamer, who topped off an incredible 2004 amateur season by capturing medalist honors at the LPGA Tour qualifying school, has been selected as the recipient of the sixth annual Nancy Lopez Award.

Named after one of the most respected women golfers in history, the award is presented annually to the world’s most outstanding female amateur. The inaugural winner in 2000 was Kellee Booth, followed by Aree Song, Meredith Duncan, Lorena Ochoa and, last year, Virada Nirapathpongporn.

The award is a key facet of the long-time relationship between Nancy Lopez and the Chick-fil-A Charity Championship hosted by Nancy Lopez. As the event’s official host, Lopez will present the award to Creamer at a gala banquet to be held Thursday, May 12 of the Chick-fil-A tournament week. Along with the award comes a sponsor invitation to compete in the tournament. As she is now an LPGA member, Creamer will not need the invitation to participate. In addition, the tournament is donating $1,000 in Creamer’s name to the First Tee programs in Sarasota, Fla., and Pleasanton, Calif.

The native of Mountain View, Calif. enjoyed a remarkable 2004 year topped by a 13th place finish at the U.S. Women’s Open. She also made it the semifinals in both the U.S. Women’s Amateur and the U.S. Junior Girls, and represented her country on both the Curtis Cup Team and the U.S. World Amateur Team. She competed in seven LPGA events last year, making the cut in all of them, and finishing second at the ShopRite LPGA Classic just one shot behind winner Cristie Kerr.

Creamer, the 2003 Rolex Player of the Year, recorded 13 victories during her AJGA career. Her first title came in 2001 at the AJGA St. Regis Aspen Junior Classic. Creamer's achievements includes back-to-back wins at the Heather Farr Classic (2003 and 2004) and a win at the Rolex Girls Junior Championship (2003). She was also a member of the victorious 2002 West Canon Cup Team.

Creamer was selected from a list of eight extraordinarily talented and distinguished international amateur candidates. The Nancy Lopez Award Executive Committee which chaired the award consists of Chairman Mike Waldron (Executive Director of the Georgia State Golf Association), Judy Bell (Past President of the United States Golf Association), Nancy Lopez (LPGA Hall of Fame Member), Rob Neal (V.P. of Business Affairs for the LPGA), Betsy Rawls (LPGA Hall of Fame Member), Steve Robinson (Senior V.P., CMO, Chick-fil-A, Inc.), Mickey Walker (Former Captain European Solheim Cup Team) and J.T. Williams (President, Metro South Golf Charities).The Executive Committee selected approximately 95 international golf industry experts who compiled the list of candidates. The committee members and industry experts participated in the voting.

“Having my name associated with this prestigious award and with the tournament is a huge honor for me,” Lopez said. “I have wonderful memories of competing in amateur golf. Paula is a very remarkable young woman to have accomplished so much at her age. I’m sure she will enjoy a long and successful LPGA career.”

For more information contact John Marshall of Marshall & Associates at (770) 436-2643. For more information on the AJGA contact Steve Ethun in the Communications Department at (770) 868-4200 ext. 786.