Field set for Rolex Tournament of Champions


By Walker McCrary, AJGA Communications

The 38th annual Rolex Tournament of Champions takes place from June 22 - 26, 2015 at Sunriver Resort – Crosswater Course. This is the third time since 2004 that the tournament has made its way to Sunriver.

The tournament features 144 of the world’s best junior golfers competing to join a list of past champions which includes Inbee Park, David Duval, Heather Farr, Charles Howell III, Morgan Pressel, Webb Simpson, two-time winner Beth Bauer and three-time victor Phil Mickelson.

Defending Girls Division champion Andrea Lee of Hermosa Beach, California, returns to defend her title against 65 other very talented girls, 39 of which have committed to play college golf. The Stanford commit won the 2014 Yani Tseng Invitational presented by the Swinging Skirts less than one week after winning the 2014 Rolex Tournament of Champions and finished tied for fourth at the Thunderbird International Junior earlier this year.

“There were a lot of bittersweet moments for me at all of the other AJGA Invitationals,” Lee said after her Rolex Tournament of Champions win last year. “I’ve been runner-up so many times and to finally be able to win is just an amazing feeling.”

One of the girls that Lee will compete against is Hannah O’Sullivan, the champion of 2015 Rolex Girls Junior Championship. The Chandler, Arizona, native was ecstatic to win her first AJGA Invitational.

“It’s kind of surreal and hasn’t really sunken in yet,” the University of Southern California commit said after her win at the Rolex Girls Junior Championship. “This is my sixth season of AJGA tournaments, so to be able to finally close out an Invitational victory means so much.”

In the Boys Division, Spencer Soosman of Westlake Village, California, enters his second Rolex Tournament of Champions. Last year, the UCLA verbal commit won the 2014 Polo Golf Junior Classic and is currently No. 9 in the Polo Golf Rankings.

“I proved to myself that I can compete with the best juniors in the world,” Soosman said after winning last year’s LA Junior Open in August.

Also in the field is Collin Morikawa of La Canada Flintridge, California. Morikawa finished third in last year’s event and also in this year’s Thunderbird International Junior. The University of California, Berkeley commit is currently No. 11 in the Polo Golf Rankings.

Tee times on Tuesday will run from 7 – 9:12 a.m. for the boys and 12:30 – 2:20 p.m. for the girls off the Nos. 1 and 10 tees at Sunriver Resort – Crosswater Course.