Four AJGA players receive Byron Nelson International Junior Golf Award


AJGA players Ryan Grider, Cooper Dossey, Philip Barbaree and Davis Shore are the four recipients of the 2016 Byron Nelson International Junior Golf Awards. The award annually recognizes junior golfers who distinguish themselves with a high level of junior tournament play as well as excellence in academics, exceptional character and a commitment to community service. The players will be presented their awards during this week’s AT&T Byron Nelson.

Barbaree joins Sam Burns (2015), Scott Scheffler (2014), Cody Proveaux (2012), Jordan Spieth (2010) and Cameron Peck (2009) as reigning Rolex Junior Players of the Year to have won the award. This year also marks the third straight year each recipient is an AJGA player.

The four award recipients have a total of 10 victories in national competition, and each was named a Rolex Junior All-American in 2015. Most recently, the four players competed against each other at the Polo Golf Junior Classic in November, with Grider defeating Barbaree in the second round, and Dossey defeating Grider in the quarterfinals.

Additionally, through the AJGA’s Leadership Links program, Barbaree raises money for the American Diabetes Association, while Shore’s fundraisers benefit The First Tee of Knoxville and the Tennessee Golf Foundation.