Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior wins AJGA’s Junior-Am Award

BRASELTON, Ga. — The Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2008, and the American Junior Golf Association has recognized the tournament committee’s fundraising efforts by awarding it the AJGA’s Junior-Am Award. The national junior golf tournament, which was held June 17-20 at Bellefonte Country Club in Ashland, Ky., raised more than $60,000 during the event and earned the Junior-Am Award for the second time in its history (2001).

The AJGA Junior-Am Award is given annually to the tournament that exceeds expectations in fundraising and contribution to junior golf charities. In 2008, several grassroots junior golf charities benefited from the Junior-Am at the Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior, including the Tri-State Communities Yancey Scholarship and eight local high school golf programs.

“It is quite an honor for the NRP Bluegrass Junior to win the Junior-Am award during the year of our 25th annual tournament,” said Nick Carter, president of Natural Resource Partners, who will accept the award during this year’s tournament (June 16-19). “The fact that the Junior-Am was conceived by the founders of the Bluegrass as a way to raise the necessary funds to host the tournament is indicative of our heritage and the contributions that we have made to the AJGA and junior golf.”

Check below for more information on each of the individual awards or contact the AJGA Communications Department at (770) 868-4200.

2008 AJGA Tournament Awards

Media Award – Doug Padgett (Rolex Tournament of Champions Newburgh, Ind.)

Volunteers – PING Invitational (Stillwater Okla.)

Hospitality Award – The Cliffs Championship (Salem, S.C.)

Junior-Am Award – Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior (Ashland, Ky.)

Charitable Giving Award – Rolex Tournament of Champions (Newburgh, Ind.)

Golf Professional of the Year Award – Mike Summa (The Stanwich Club, Greenwich, Conn.)

Most Improved Tournament Award – SAP Junior Open (Avon, Ohio)

Newcomer of the Year Award – ClubCar Junior Hosted by Charles Howell III (Evans, Ga.)

Tournament of Year Award – Dalhousie Junior Championship (Cape Girardeau, Mo.)

Invitational of the Year Award – Junior PLAYERS Championship