NCAA Men's Golf Championship

Wolff, Matthew.JPG

Matthew Wolff of Agoura Hills, California, was named the NCAA Division I Men’s National Champion, claiming the individual title as an Oklahoma State University sophomore. Carding 20 birdies, Wolff finished with a tournament total of 10-under-par 278, ending five strokes ahead of second place finisher, Steven Fisk a fellow AJGA alumni.

After finishing at 1-over-par 73 in the first round, Wolff came back to dominate in the second round carding seven birdies to end at 6-under-par 66. Wolff entered the third round tied at second yet finished on top with a 2-under-par 70 that put him three strokes ahead of the field. Throughout the final round Wolff was untouchable, ending the round at 3-under-par 69, earning his title as National Champion.

Wolff participated in 19 events throughout his AJGA career. His best finish was a win at the 2014 Junior All-Star at Tanglewood. Wolff was also a first-team Rolex Junior All-American in 2015.

The Men’s Golf team of Stanford University defeated the Texas Longhorns in the final round of the Division I NCAA tournament to win the National Championship, their ninth title in program history. In the semifinals both teams defeated higher ranked teams to advance to the championship, Stanford beating Vanderbilt (2) and Texas overcoming the No. 1 ranked team, Oklahoma State. In the final match-up, Stanford junior, Henry Shimp secured the win on the 17th hole after a back-and-forth battle with Texas junior, Spencer Spoosman. Other victories for the Cardinals included, Isaiah Salinda who defeated Phil Mickelson Award winner Cole Hammer 4&3 and Brandon Wu who beat the All-American freshman, Pierceson Coody with the same score. Salinda and Wu were undefeated in all three tournament matches.

All ten players who competed in the championship matches are AJGA alumni, combining for a total of 164 AJGA tournaments. Names and class standings of each player are indicted below:

Stanford University:
Brandon Wu, Senior
Daulet Tuleubayev, Freshman
David Snyder, Junior
Henry Shimp, Junior
Isaiah Salinda, Senior

University of Texas – Austin:
Cole Hammer, Freshman
Parker Coody, Freshman
Pierceson Coody, Freshman
Spencer Soosman, Junior
Steven Chervony, Senior