Newsmakers: March 7, 2006

College Round-up

The Golf Coaches Association of America has named its Ben Hogan Award Watch List. The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months. The GCAA presents it along with Bank of America, Colonial Country Club and the Friends of Golf. The award will be presented May 13 prior to the Bank of America Colonial PGA TOUR event.

This year, 20 of the 27 golfers named to the watch list are former AJGA players. Clay Ogden of Brigham Young University, Dustin Johnson of Coastal Carolina University, Ryan Blaum and Jake Grodzinsky of Duke, Matt Every of the University of Florida, Brian Harman and Chris Kirk of the University of Georgia, Roberto Castro of Georiga Tech, Jay Choi of the University of New Mexico, Martin Ureta of the University of North Carolina, Dillon Dougherty of Northwestern University, Anthony Kim of Oklahoma University, Rob Grube of Stanford, Oscar Floren of Texas Tech, Erik Flores of UCLA, Andres Gonzales of UNLV, Scott Brown of USC - Aiken, Luke List of Vandy and Kyle Reifers and Webb Simpson of Wake Forest are all former AJGA members named to the watch list.

Kirk has also been named the SEC's Golfer of the Week after taking home medalist honors at the Puerto Rico Classic. Teammate Brendon Todd finished in a tie for third with Florida's Every helping boost UGA to top team honors.

Oklahoma's Kim finished seven strokes ahead of Stanford's Zack Miller at the Ashworth Collegiate Invitational. Pepperdine took home top team honors, with Adam Porzak leading his team with a third place tie.

Vanderbilt freshman Jacqui Concolino took home her second medalist honor in as many week's at the LSU/Cleveland Golf Classic. The two-time Rolex Junior All-American has tied the school record for wins in a season.

Other AJGA Alumni in Men's College Golf...

Ryan Baca's 11-under-par gave him and his Baylor team a first place finish at The Naples Invitational...Andrew Lawson finished at even-par at the Carson Daly Invitational helping The Master's College to a third place team finish. Loyola Marymount took home medalist honors with Jason D'Amore's second place finish leading the way...Greg Koch of Florida Southern finished one stroke ahead of Middle Tennessee State's Nick Bailes at the Didck Wittcoff/South Florida Invitational. Middle Tennessee State finished atop the team division...Andrew Landry, Graham Hill and Justin Harding tied for first at the Orange County National Invitational at 8-under-par. Landry's Lamar took home team honors...Memphis's Keven Fortin-Simard finished first at the All-American Golf Classic. Houston took home team honors with Ricky Romano's third place finish leading the way.

Other AJGA Alumni in Women's College Golf...

Amy Schmucker of the University of Michigan took home top honors at the Rio Verde Invitational. She finished three strokes ahead of Northwestern's Brittany Johnson who helped boost her team to top medalist honors...Christy Carter defeated Jessica Garza in a playoff to lead Oral Roberts to team honors at the Centenary Ladies Spring Invitational...Selanee Henderson finished six strokes ahead of the field at the Kitahara Fresno State Invitational and helped UC Irvine take home team honors.

Professional Round-up

Tiger Woods took home the crystal trophy at the Ford Championship at Doral in Miami. It is his second win on the PGA TOUR this season.