Newsmakers: May 7, 2007

College Round-up

Georgia's Taylor Leon made the cut at last week's LPGA Tour event, the SemGroup Championship. Leon finished in a tie for 61st with rounds of 73-74-74 for an 8-over-par 221. Leon was also named the SEC Player of the Year.

Chris Kirk of Georgia has been named a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award, which is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Clemson's Kyle Stanley has been named the ACC Player and Freshman of the Year. Florida's Billy Horschel was named the SEC Player of the Year, and Georgia's Hudson Swafford received SEC Freshman of the Year honors. Michigan State's Matt Harmon received Big 10 Player of the Year honors, while Penn State's Kevin Foley was recognized as the conference's Freshman of the Year. Niklas Lemke of Arizona State and Southern California's Jamie Lovemark shared Pac-10 Player of the Year Honors, with Lovemark being named the conference's Freshman of the Year as well. On the women's side, Candace Shepperle of Auburn was named SEC Freshman of the Year.Texas A&M's Ashley Knoll received Big 12 Player of the Year honors while Anna Nordqvist of Arizona State took home the Pac-10 Player and Freshman of the Year awards.

Charlotte won the Atlantic 10 Conference Championship, led by Matt Mincer who captured the individual title with a 14-under-par 202.

Detroit's David Byrne claimed medalist honors at the Horizon League Championship with an even-par 216. Detroit also won the team title with a collective 30-over-par 894.

Professional Round-up

Tiger Woods won his third victory in six starts in the 2007 season at the Wachovia Championship. Woods fired 70-68-68-69 for a 13-under-par 275, finishing two strokes ahead of Steve Stricker. It is the 57th career win for Woods.