Newsmakers: November 13, 2006

College Round-up

Brigham Young dominated the Food4Less Pacific Invitational last week after going 1-2 in the individual honors. Clay Ogden finished first after shooting a 12-under-par 204 for the event. Teammate Daniel Summerhays finished just one shot back in second. UC-Irvine's John Chin took third with a 10-under-par 206.

Stanford took home another team victory last week at the CordeValle Collegiate. Teammates Rob Grube and Zack Millerfinished tied for first after shooting matching 14-under-par 202s. USC freshman Jamie Lovemark finished along in third with a 12-under-par tournament total.

The UAB Bash was held last week with Birmingham Southern taking home the top team honors. Jill Stupiansky took home individual medalist honors after shooting a 3-over-par 147 tournament total. Teammates Shelley McGraw and Jordan Hardyfinished second and third, respectively.

Other AJGA Alumni in Men's College Golf...

Brian Locke of Loyola-Marymount tied with San Diego's Darrin Hall to take home top honors at the Hawaii Fall Invitational. The two shot matching 10-under-par 206s for the event. Matt Edwards of New Mexico State finished five shots back in third. Loyola Marymount took home team honors.

Other AJGA Alumni in Women's College Golf...

Jennifer Bermingham of UC-Riverside shot the only sub-par tournament total at the FireStone Grill-Cal Poly Invitational. Her 1-under-par tournament total allowed her to finish five shots ahead of the field. UC-Davis earned top team honors...Amanda Smith of Augusta State took home top individual honors at America's Choice Mortgage last week. Georgia State took home team honors.

Professional Round-up

Craig Kanada of Portland, Ore., won his second Nationwide Tour event of the 2006 season. His win over Matt Kuchar put him in the top 20 on the money list and allowed him to earn his PGA TOUR card for next season.

Other AJGA alumni on the Nationwide Tour who earned their PGA TOUR cards for 2007 are Johnson Wagner, Tripp Isenhour, Jeff Quinney, Jason Dufner, Brandt Snedeker, Kuchar, Kevin Stadler, Andrew Buckle, Doug LaBelle and Michael Putnam.