Newsmakers: October 22, 2007

Junior Round-up

Patrick Reed of Baton Rouge, La., finished second at the St. Augustine Amateur. Reed shot a final-round 66, the day's low round, to close at 3-under-par 207, but finished two shots back of Florida Southern sophomore Danny Evelyn. Current AJGA members Kevin Phelan, Mu Hu, Wesley Graham and Edward Waller also finished in the top 10.

College Round-up

Charlotte won its third-consecutive tournament to start the fall season at The Prestige. Charlotte, who topped Stanford by eight strokes after a 10-under-par 854 team performance, was led by sophomore Corey Nagy. Nagy finished third overall in the individual race, behind Wisconsin's Dan Woltman and Minnesota's Clayton Rask, who tied for medalist honors with matching 8-under-par 208s.

Southern Methodist defeated Texas Tech in a playoff to claim victory at the Oklahoma Intercollegiate. Arkansas' Jason Turner placed first in the individual portion with a 2-over-par 215. Texas Tech's Will Griffin finished second, one stroke behind Turner. Ben Tewes was the top finisher for SMU, placing third with a 5-over-par 218.

Virginia Commonwealth University's Vincent Nadeau captured medalist honors at the Frank Landrey Invitational with a 10-under-par 206. Radford won the team title.

Arizona State took the team title at the Stanford Intercollegiate with a 10-over-par 862. The Sun Devils were led by Jennifer Osborn, who finished second with a 1-under-par 212, and Anna Nordqvist and Azahara Munoz, who tied for third place with 1-over-par 214s. Arkansas' Stacy Lewis won medalist honors with a 2-under-par 211. Duke's Amanda Blumenhurst finished alone in fifth place to round out the top five.

UC Irvine captured the Aztec Fall Classic by 10 strokes over East Tennessee State. The Anteaters were led by Patty Chawalitmetha, who earned medalist honors with a 2-under-par 142.

Oklahoma won the Price's Give Em Five Intercollegiate, defeating Idaho by four strokes. Chelsea Stelzmiller of UC Davis captured medalist honors with a 3-over-par 219. Stelzmiller's teammate Bryana Gregory finished in second place, one shot back...IUPUI's Kellie Marshall took first place at the IPFW Fall Classic. Butler took the team title.

Professional Round-up

Mike Weir won the Fry's Electronics Open, his first PGA TOUR victory since 2004. The 2003 Masters champion fired rounds of 69-63-65-68 for a 14-under-par 266 tournament total, one stroke ahead of Mark Hensby.

Suzann Pettersen won the Hana Bank KOLON Championship with a 3-under-par 141 (due to severe weather conditions, the final round was cancelled). It is Pettersen's fourth LPGA Tour victory of the season and marks the first time a South Korean has not won the event in its six-year history.

* AJGA members and alumni denoted in bold.