Newsmakers: September 29, 2008

College Round-up

Ben Fuqua of the University of Kentucky won the Mason Rudolph Men’s Championship Sunday. Jon Curran of Vanderbilt, Jason Millard of Middle Tennessee State, Mark Silvers II of South Carolina, Jack Hiluta of the University of South Alabama, and Michael Tulacz of Kennesaw State rounded out the top five. South Carolina won the team championship by eight strokes.

In the Mason Rudolph Women’s Championship, Sydnee Michaels helped UCLA win the team championship over Southern California with her four-shot victory. AJGA alumni Candace Schepperle of Auburn, Marina Alex and Megan Grehan of Vanderbilt, Kathleen Ekey of Alabama, Anna Nordqvist of Arizona State, Amanda Blumenherst and Jennie Lee of Duke, Lizette Salas of Southern California, and Glory Yang of UCLA all finished in the top 10.

Eddie Olson of UNLV and Derek Tolan of Colorado tied for medalist honors at the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate at the University of New Mexico Championship Course Saturday with 5-under-par 211s. Josh Anderson of Pepperdine, Bo Hoag of Ohio State, Derek Ernst of UNLV, Brandon Putnam and Steve Saunders of New Mexico were all finishers in the top five. UNLV won the event over New Mexico.

Professional Round-up

Lorena Ochoa won the Navistar LPGA Classic Presented by MaxxForce held in Prattville, Ala., Sunday. The Mexico native finished with a four-day total 15-under-par 273. Cristie Kerr, Candie Kung, Shanshan Feng, and Song-Hee Kim all finished in the top five.

On the PGA TOUR, Camilo Villegas was victorious at the TOUR Championship Sunday after winning a playoff over Sergio Garcia. Anthony Kim, Phil Mickelson, and Ben Curtis rounded out the top five.

*AJGA alumni denoted in bold