Paolini receives Byron Nelson Award


Former AJGA Player Representative Brinson Paolini was named the recipient of the 2013 Byron Nelson Award. A senior at Duke, Paolini was one of five finalists including Evan Beck (Wake Forest), Pedro Figueiredo (UCLA), Charlie Hughes (Washington) and Andrew Yun (Stanford).

The Byron Nelson Award is presented annually to a graduating senior based on collegiate academics, golf career and his character and integrity while in college.

During his four years at Duke, Paolini has led the team to eight team victories and his stroke average of 72.25 ranks second in the program’s history. In addition to being an All-American and three-time all-region selection, Paolini is a three-time All-ACC Academic team selection.

Paolini served as a Player Representative on the 2008 AJGA Board of Directors. He tallied eight top-10 finishes and one victory during his AJGA career. In 2008, he tied for sixth at the FJ Invitational and finished runner-up at the Polo Golf Junior Classic. Paolini was a two-time HP Scholastic Junior All-American and was twice named an honorable mention Rolex Junior All-American.