Preview: Mapping the champions


Throughout the years, the Polo Golf Junior Classic has visited some of the top courses in the country, each offering a new chapter in the history books with a talented crop of past champions.

PGA National Resort & Spa (2009-present)
Since 2009, the Polo Golf Junior Classic has been played at PGA National Resort & Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, where the championship matches are contested on the Champion Course, home of the PGA TOUR’s Honda Classic. In the first year at PGA National, Lexi Thompson and Oliver Schniederjans both survived the Bear Trap to win the title.

Reunion Resort (2007-08)

Reunion Resort hosted the Polo Golf Junior Classic twice and produced champions like Vicky Hurst and Sweden’s Bjorn Akesson in 2007. The resort’s Watson Course continues to challenge AJGA juniors, as site of the ANNIKA Invitational, which has been contested annually since 2009.

Sea Island Golf Club (2004-06)

One of the most epic championship matches in Polo Golf Junior Classic history was in 2006 and featured eventual champion Morgan Hoffmann against his future college teammate Rickie Fowler. That match was contested on the Seaside Course at Sea Island Golf Club in Sea Island, Georgia, home of the PGA TOUR’s McGladrey Classic. Robert Streb, the 2014 McGladrey Classic champion, previously competed on the track at the 2004 Polo Golf Junior Classic.

Walt Disney World Resort (1995-2003)

“The Happiest Place on Earth” was home to the Polo Golf Junior Classic for nine years and it is the only AJGA tournament to be held at the Lake Buena Vista, Florida, resort. Hunter Mahan, Paula Creamer and Brian Harman each captured “magical” victories in 1998, 2002 and 2003, respectively.

La Paloma Country Club (1990-94)

La Paloma Country Club has hosted a total of 13 AJGA events over the years, making it an Arizona staple. The most notable Polo Golf Junior Classic champion to win at La Paloma is a recognizable one— Tiger Woods claimed victory there in 1991.

Innisbrook Resort (1978-89)
Innisbrook Resort has hosted a total of 26 AJGA events, making it the most-visited venue. Home of the PGA TOUR’s Valspar Championship Presented by BB&T, the Copperhead Course features the Snake Pit – a challenging trio of final holes. Innisbrook Resort’s most notable Polo Golf Junior Classic champions were Heather Farr in 1979 and Stewart Cink in 1989.