Preview: Polo Golf Junior Classic


For the 38th year, 156 of the world’s best junior golfers will compete in the Polo Golf Junior Classic. Since its inception in 1978, the event has seen champions like Stewart Cink (1989), Tiger Woods (1991), Trevor Immelman (1995), Hunter Mahan (1998), Paula Creamer (2002), Brian Harman (2003), Morgan Pressel (2004), Morgan Hoffmann (2006), Vicky Hurst (2007), Oliver Schniederjans (2009), Lexi Thompson (2009) and Matt NeSmith (2011).

PGA National Resort & Spa will host the event for the eighth consecutive year, playing on both the Champion (host of the PGA TOUR’s Honda Classic) and Fazio courses.

Rolex Junior Players of the Year Philip Barbaree and Hannah O’Sullivan will lead a field which features the top junior golfers in the world. Barbaree, No. 2 in the Polo Golf Rankings, looks to cap off a year that included a win at the Rolex Tournament of Champions and the U.S. Junior Amateur Championship. O’Sullivan, who won three AJGA events in 2015, including the Rolex Tournament of Champions and Rolex Girls Junior Championship, also added a Symetra Tour victory and a U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship to her resume. She will try to improve upon her 2014 Polo Golf Junior Classic appearance in which she made it to the Round of 16.

On Sunday, November 22, Barbaree, O’Sullivan and the 2015 Rolex Junior All-America teams will be honored at the Rolex Junior All-America Banquet, dubbed the “Greatest Night in Junior Golf.”

2014 Boys Division champion Spencer Soosman returns to PGA National Resort & Spa to defend his title against 78 of the top-ranked boys in the world, including his Westlake High School teammate and 2014 finals opponent Matthew Wolff. Vying for the championship in the Boys Division this year are nine of the top-10 ranked players in the Polo Golf Rankings.

Returning to defend her title in the Girls Division is Sierra Brooks, who will try to fend off a field containing seven of the top-10 players in the Polo Golf Rankings and 45 AJGA champions.