The Junior PLAYERS Championship receives AJGA Invitational of the Year Award

BRASELTON, Ga. — Local organizers of The Junior PLAYERS Championship, which took place at TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., Aug. 28-31, 2008, have been honored by the American Junior Golf Association. The tournament was honored with the AJGA Invitational of the Year Award, given annually to the tournament that showcases the AJGA, its members, sponsors and host facility better than any other event on the Association’s 84-event schedule.

The 2008 Junior PLAYERS Championship, held over Labor Day Weekend, was designed to duplicate the PGA TOUR’s PLAYERS Championship. Throughout the tournament week, juniors had full access to the locker room, the player’s dining room, and the tour academy, as well as were provided caddies for all three rounds.

"On behalf of the PGA TOUR, THE PLAYERS, and TPC Sawgrass I want to share what a great honor it is to be named the AJGA's Invitational of the Year," said TPC National Director of Golf Billy Dettlaff. "When we first envisioned creating one of the world's greatest junior tournaments we looked to the AJGA as a partner in bringing our event to life. To be honored in this manner in just our second year is a great testament to the PGA TOUR's vision, and the support from our sponsors, volunteers, caddies, and staff."

The course was set up identical to that of the TOUR event, with matching yardage and hole locations. Players were treated to a PGA TOUR media tutorial to better help prepare them for a future with the media. The tournament cookout was held at the World Golf Hall of Fame with all players and parents welcome, free of charge. Combining the TOUR venue, an ideal tournament committee and a top-ranked field, the tournament was one of the highlights on the AJGA schedule in 2008.

Check below for more information on each of the individual awards or contact the AJGA Communications Department at (770) 868-4200.

2008 AJGA Tournament Awards

Media Award – Doug Padgett (Rolex Tournament of Champions Newburgh, Ind.)

Volunteers – PING Invitational (Stillwater Okla.)

Hospitality Award – The Cliffs Championship (Salem, S.C.)

Junior-Am Award – Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior (Ashland, Ky.)

Charitable Giving Award – Rolex Tournament of Champions (Newburgh, Ind.)

Golf Professional of the Year Award – Mike Summa (The Stanwich Club, Greenwich, Conn.)

Most Improved Tournament Award – SAP Junior Open (Avon, Ohio)

Newcomer of the Year Award – ClubCar Junior Hosted by Charles Howell III (Evans, Ga.)

Tournament of Year Award – Dalhousie Junior Championship (Cape Girardeau, Mo.)

Invitational of the Year Award – Junior PLAYERS Championship