Tour highlights: Johnson wins U.S. Open


By Layne Saliba, AJGA Communications

Dustin Johnson finally got redemption after a three-stroke victory at the U.S. Open at Oakmont Country Club on Sunday. After a second-place finish last year, Johnson shot a final-round 69 in Oakmont, Pennsylvania to finish at 4-under-par 276 and win his first major title over Jim Furyk, Scott Piercy and Shane Lowry.

Johnson is the fifth player in the last 100 years to win the U.S. Open the year after finishing runner-up. This is also his eighth straight year with a PGA TOUR win and third straight top-5 finish. His 276 score is the lowest winning score at Oakmont by three shots

Johnson played in five AJGA tournaments with his best finish coming at the 2001 AJGA Greater Greensboro Chrysler Junior where he finished T10.


The AJGA had 94 alumni in the field at the U.S. Open. Jim Furyk earned his first top-10 finish of 2016 and Scott Piercy earned his second, as both finished T2. Sergio Garcia, who hosted his own AJGA tournament in May and is ranked No. 12 in the World Golf Rankings, finished T5. Jason Dufner, Zach Johnson and Daniel Summerhays finished T8.

Combined, these six AJGA players competed in 65 AJGA tournaments dating back to 1986.


Davis Shore and Alyaa Abdulghany were selected as the 2015-16 ALL-USA Golfers of the Year. The title is given to the male and female golfer who excels at the high school level as well as at the junior level.

Shore, a verbal commit to the University of Alabama, is a back-to-back Tennessee class A/AA state champion. As an AJGA member, he has two victories and was selected first-team Rolex Junior All-American in 2015.

Abdulghany shot a 2-under-par 69 to set a new women’s course record by three strokes en route to a California state championship. She has 15 top-10 finishes in her four years as an AJGA member, including a win and second-place finish this year.

Both Shore and Abdulghany are ranked No. 6 on the Polo Golf Rankings.


Americans won both the boys and girls divisions of the Toyota Junior Golf World Cup supported by JAL. Kristen Gillman shot 10-under-par 278 and Joaquin Niemann shot 17-under-par 267 to earn the individual titles. The U.S. outlasted teams from 18 different countries.

Gillman, who signed a letter of intent with the University of Alabama and is ranked No. 4 in the Polo Golf Rankings, has played in numerous AJGA events. Her most recent victory was at the 2016     Bishops Gate Golf Academy Junior at Horseshoe Bay.

Niemann won the Sergio Garcia Foundation Junior Championship this year and is ranked No. 12 in the Polo Golf Rankings. He is also verbally committed to the University of South Florida. 


Brian Campbell finished second at the Nashville Golf Open at 16-under-par 272. This marks Campbell’s fourth top-10 finish in his last five starts. With the second-place finish in Nashville, Campbell moves up to No. 9 on the Tour money list with $148,950.

Grayson Murray finished with a career-best fifth-place performance at 14-under-par 274.

Campbell attended the University of Illinois where he had a standout junior season in 2014. He was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, broke the school record for season stroke average by four strokes at 71.08 and earned All-America status by finishing T9 at the NCAA Championships.

Murray attended Wake Forest University then transferred to Arizona State University to continue his collegiate golf career before turning professional in 2015.

As AJGA members, Campbell won the ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior in 2010 while Murray won the 2008 Sta-Green® Junior All-Star Championship. 


In an attempt to earn back-to-back victories at the Meijer LPGA Classic for Simply Give in Grand Rapids, Michigan, Lexi Thompson finished T4 at 14-under-par 270. With the T4 showing, Thompson is No. 4 on the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings.

Thompson was a standout AJGA member. She played in 21 AJGA tournaments and never finished outside the top 20. Of the 21 tournaments she competed in, Thompson won four. She also was selected first-team Rolex Junior All-American three consecutive years from 2007-09.