TOUR Highlights: June 13



Just under a year after his debut as an AJGA tournament host, Daniel Berger repeated as the FedEx St. Jude Classic champion with a closing 4-under-par 66. The victory, his second on TOUR, comes a week before the second-annual EMoney®.com / Daniel Berger Junior Championship is set to kick off in Jupiter, Florida.

The 2010 Rolex Junior All-American competed with the AJGA for three years prior to attending Florida State University. He finished as high as runner-up at the 2010 TaylorMade-adidas Golf Junior at Innisbrook and reached the match play quarterfinals at the 2010 Polo Golf Junior Classic.

Other alumni highlights:

  • T4: New tournament host Billy Horschel, Braden Thornberry (a), Chez Reavie, Kevin Chappell
  • 9: Phil Mickelson


Reigning Rolex Player of the Year (and former two-time Rolex Junior Player of the Year) Ariya Jutanugarn topped Lexi Thompson and In Gee Chun in a playoff to win the Manulife LPGA Classic on June 11.

World No. 2 Jutanugarn dropped a 25-foot birdie putt on the first extra hole to top Thompson (World No. 4) and Chun (World No. 5).

Jutanugarn was a three-time Rolex Junior All-American from 2010-12 and was named Rolex Junior Player of the Year in 2011 and 2012. Jutanugarn and Thompson combined for eight AJGA victories as juniors, as well two U.S. Girls’ Junior Championships.

Other alumni highlights:

  • T7: Minjee Lee, Lindy Duncan

Symetra Tour

Kendall Dye of Edmond, Oklahoma, carded a final-round 8-under-par 64 to claim her second victory on the LPGA Tour, the Four Winds Invitational. She holed two long birdie putts on the final two holes to reach 11-under-par 205 for the tournament.

Dye competed with the AJGA in 2005 at her hometown tournament, the AJGA Junior at Oak Tree.

Other alumni highlights:

  • T2: Celine Boutier, Elizabeth Szokol
  • T4: Benyapa Niphatsophon

PGA TOUR Champions

Brandt Jobe of Littleton, Colorado, outlasted another AJGA alum, Scott McCarron, to win the Principal Charity Classic in Des Moines, Iowa at 14-under-par 202.

Jobe competed in the 1982 Insurance Youth Classic, while McCarron competed in the Lake Tahoe Memorial Junior from 1981-83.