TOUR Highlights: October 24, 2016


AJGA alum and tournament host Justin Thomas defended his title at the CIMB Classic, finishing at 23-under-par 265. Thomas collected his second PGA TOUR title in Malaysia. Entering the final round, Thomas was four shots back of Anirban Lahiri, but was able to come back after firing an 8-under-par 64. His bogey-free final round helped him capture the win by three strokes over Hideki Matsuyama. AJGA alumni Keegan Bradley finished sixth at 16-under par 272 and Ryo Ishikawa tied with six other competitors for tenth at 13-under-par 275.

In his junior career, Thomas participated in 30 AJGA events. He won three events and had nine top-10 finishes. In 2009 and 2010, Thomas was named a Rolex Junior All-American. In 2016, Thomas hosted his first AJGA event, the Justin Thomas Junior Championship.

Combined Bradley and Ishikawa played in 10 AJGA events. Bradley won the 2004 Lessing’s AJGA Classic and was named a honorable mention Rolex Junior All-American the same year.



Minjee Lee held off Jessica Korda and Ariya Jutanugarn long enough to capture her third career win at the Blue Bay LPGA, her second win of the season. Lee carded a 13-under-par 275 tournament total in Hainan Island, China this past weekend.  Korda caught Lee for the share of the lead after carding 6-under-par 66 in the third round, but fell short in the final round, finishing one stroke behind at 12-under-par 276. After making three birdies on the back nine to take share the lead, Jutanugarn bogeyed her final hole finishing two strokes behind at 11-under-par 277.

Lee competed in the 2011 AJGA Thunderbird International Junior where she placed 11th.

In her junior years, Jutanugarn was named a 2011 and 2012 Rolex Junior Player of the year. She won four AJGA tournaments and had seven top-10 finishes.

Korda was a 2008, 2009 and 2010 Rolex Junior All-American. She won the 2008 AJGA Girls Championship and had 10 top-10 finishes while playing in the AJGA.

Other notable AJGA alumni in the top-10:

7 – Pernilla Lindberg

8 – Brooke M. Henderson

T10 – Mariajo Uribe

T10 – Azahara Munoz