Tour highlights: Zalatoris wins second Trans-Miss Championship


By Layne Saliba, AJGA Communications


For the second time in his career, Will Zalatoris won the Trans-Miss Amateur Championship. With the one stroke victory at 6-under-par 274, Zalatoris joins Jack Nicklaus on the list of two-time winners at the tournament. The Wake Forest golfer finished one stroke ahead of Ruben Sondjaja while Doug Ghim came in third at 2-under-par 278.

Zalatoris won two AJGA events in 2009 and was an honorable mention Rolex Junior All-American in 2010. Ghim won four AJGA tournaments, most recently the CB&I / Simplify Boys Championship in 2014. He was also selected first-team Rolex Junior All-American in 2012 and 2014.


Martin Flores shot a final-round 67 that included an eagle on No. 7 to win the Lincoln Land Charity Championship and rise from No. 11 to No. 4 on the Tour money list. His 22-under-par 262 was two strokes better than Jonathan Randolph who finished T2 along with Wesley Bryan, JT Poston and Casey Wittenberg.

Flores played in 20 events from 1997-2000 and won the CB&I / Simplify Boys Championship in 2000. Randolph had a fifth-place finish at the Burgett H. Mooney Jr. Rome Classic in 2007, while Wittenberg won two events, including the Polo Golf Junior Classic in 2000.


After starting the final round one shot off the lead, Clariss Guce shot a 67 to win her first career tournament on the Symetra Tour at the Danielle Downey Credit Union Classic at Brook-Lea Country Club. The 11-under-par 277 performance was one stroke better than Ally McDonald, who finished T2, and two shots better than Erica Popson, who finished T4.

Altogether, Guce, McDonald and Popson competed in 10 AJGA tournaments from 2008-10.


Phil Mickelson shot an opening-round 63 and a final-round 65 to come in second place at the 145th Open Championship. His 17-under-par 267 was three shots behind the winner, Henrik Stenson, but 11 strokes ahead of J.B. Holmes who came in third place. This marks Mickelson’s 11th career major runner-up finish.

Mickelson played in 33 AJGA events and won an AJGA record 12 of them, while Holmes finished T4 at the 1999 Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior, an event he hosted for the first time this year.


Michael Johnson made his PGA TOUR debut at the Barbasol Championship and finished in third place. His 17-under-par 267 was two strokes better than Andre Gonzales, Richard Lee, Michael Thompson and Jhonattan Vegas, who all finished fourth.

Johnson, a recent Auburn University graduate, played in 13 AJGA events throughout his junior career. In 2010, he won The Junior PLAYERS Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf and was named a first-team Rolex Junior All-American.


Ariya Jutanugarn finished T2 at the Marathon Classic presented by Owens Corning and O-I after a playoff with the eventual winner, Lydia Ko, and fellow runner-up, Mirim Lee. After finishing at 14-under-par 270, the trio played No. 18 four times until Ko pulled ahead with a birdie. Stacy Lewis rounded out the top-five with an 11-under-par 273.

Jutanugarn had a successful AJGA career with four wins. She was named a first-team Rolex Junior All-American three years in a row and was a back-to-back Rolex Junior Player of the Year in 2011 and 2012. Lewis competed in 10 AJGA tournaments with her best finish coming at the Abilene Reporter-News Junior in 2002.


Kristen Gillman beat Katelyn Dambaugh in the championship match to claim the North & South Amateur title at Pinehurst. Gillman, who also won the U.S. Women’s Amateur in 2014, became the first player to win both tournaments.

Gillman, who will play college golf at the University of Alabama in the fall, has played in 33 AJGA tournaments since 2010. She has won two this year, including the Under Armour® / Jordan Spieth Championship presented by American Campus Communities. She was also named a first-team Rolex Junior All-American in 2014.