Visit Sanford Junior Open
Tournament Qualifier Schedule of Events Field Tee Times Leaderboard
Visit Sanford Junior Open

Visit Sanford to Title Sponsor Open Event

<i>Visit Sanford Junior Open to be held August 17-19</i>
Azalues- 2018- AJGA Preview at Carolina Trace.JPG

The Sanford Tourism Development Authority partners with the American Junior Golf Association in 2020 to title sponsor the Visit Sanford Junior Open. The 36-hole tournament will be held August 17th through 19th at Carolina Trace Country Club's Lake Course in Sanford, North Carolina. This is the 4th time Carolina Trace Country Club will host an AJGA Tournament.

The event will bring 78 male and female junior golfers from around the country to the Sanford area. AJGA Open tournaments make up the largest part of the AJGA schedule. All members may submit tournament applications to Open tournaments. All AJGA Open tournaments are filled using the AJGA’s Performance Based Entry system.

The tournament benefactors include local Sanford charity, Friends of Sanford, and the AJGA’s ACE Grant program. Friends of Sanford is a unit of the City of Sanford formed for all the public to have a voice in Sanford’s growth. The organization engages in activities such as maintaining public parks, operating public recreational facilities, and overall improvement and restoration of public spaces. To learn more about Friends of Sanford, visit their website .

“The Sanford TDA is proud to partner with the AJGA to bring the Visit Sanford Junior Open to our community,” said Kevin Brown, Chair, Sanford TDA. “With our rich history in golf, some of the most impressive courses in the region and a wide variety of things to do off the links, participants and spectators alike can look forward to a memorable event.”

The AJGA is looking for local supporters to help increase the charitable impact associated with the Visit Sanford Junior Open. If you are interested, please contact Patrick Cansfield, or donate online here .

We encourage the Sanford community to volunteer at the Visit Sanford Open. If you are interested in supporting the AJGA through volunteering please contact Tournament Director, Trevor Deal, or sign up online .

For more information about the Visit Sanford Junior Open visit the tournament website or to learn more about the AJGA visit online through Facebook , Twitter or at .

About Sanford Tourism Development Authority

As the official destination marketing organization of Sanford and Lee County, North Carolina, the mission of the Sanford Tourism Development Authority is to promote, solicit and encourage tourism and business travel through marketing and media services that enhance economic activity and quality of life within Lee County. For information: .

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 7,000 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.