Volunteers: E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship

Local organizers of the E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf, which took place at Jones Creek Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia, have earned the Volunteer Award from the American Junior Golf Association. The Volunteer Award is given annually to an AJGA tournament committee that builds the model team of volunteers committed to the success of the championship.
Each year, the AJGA presents awards to the tournaments with the best individual hospitality, Junior-Am fundraising tournament, charitable giving and volunteer base. Awards are also given to the events with the highest media and social media participation. Finally, the AJGA recognizes the year’s most outstanding golf professional, superintendent and general manager, as well as the most improved event, best new event, best Junior All-Star tournament, best Invitational and overall tournament of the year. Tournament awards for the 2014 season will be presented on-site at the 2015 tournament.

The tournament committee for the E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by Taylormade-adidas Golf worked to make sure volunteers, players and families had the best experience possible. The tournament had hundreds of volunteers that supported the event in some form throughout the tournament week.

“At this event we have more than 100 volunteers on-site at any given time,” said Tournament Chairman Dan Troutman. “Without these great people, we could not provide the services that we do for the players, parents and AJGA staff.”

The volunteers at the event provide a wide range of services throughout the week including transportation services, hole marshals, timing stations, water rovers, hospitality, driving range and assistance with the opening celebration. Most volunteers begin donating their time and efforts before the tournament even begins.

“I think what separates our volunteers from other tournaments is the sheer amount of time that they dedicate,” Troutman said. “We have volunteers at the course three days before the event begins, and each day they arrive two to three hours before the staff arrives.”

Troutman believes it is the community involvement that has made the E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf a perennial AJGA tournament award winner.

“There aren’t many tournaments that can claim four consecutive AJGA Tournament Awards,” Troutman said. “It is something that recognizes the hard work and dedication of our volunteers. We are blessed to be in a town that has a great golf tradition, and we are just trying to continue that.”

The tournament was previously awarded the 2011 Most Improved Tournament of the Year Award, the 2012 Hospitality Award and the 2013 Tournament of the Year Award. The event will return to the 2015 schedule, July 13-16.