Weekend wrap-up (February 4)


AJGA alum and former National Chairman Phil Mickelson birdied the final four holes of the Waste Management Phoenix Open to close with a 4-under-par 67 and a four-stroke victory over Brandt Snedeker at TPC Scottsdale.

Mickelson led the tournament wire-to-wire and finished at 28-under-par 256, two strokes off the PGA TOUR record of 254 set by Tommy Armour III in the 2003 Texas Open.

A 41-time champion on the PGA TOUR, Mickelson participated in 26 AJGA events from 1985-1989, boasting 12 victories – the most individual career titles ever held by an AJGA boy. Mickelson was a three-time champion at both the Rolex Tournament of Champions and the ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior, earning him the coveted Rolex Junior Player of the Year honor for a record three years (1986, 1987, 1988).

Mickelson held two roles on the AJGA Board of Directors, first as a Player Representative during his junior years, then later as National Chairman, serving from 2004-2010 alongside Vicki Goetze-Ackerman. He also supports the AJGA’s Thunderbird International Junior, an event he envisioned.

In 2012, Mickelson became the first AJGA player to be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Sean Dale carded a final-round 3-under-par 69 to erase a four-shot deficit and win the Jones Cup Invitational with at 2-under-par 213 total at Ocean Forest Golf Club. He finished two shots ahead of Alex Carpenter and Cory Whitsett.

Dale’s junior career included four top-10 showings in national competition, including a T5 finish at the 2007 U.S. Junior Amateur and a victory at the 2007 Bobby Chapman Junior Invitational. In 2007, the Rolex Junior All-American earned a spot in the Polo Golf Junior Classic final, falling to champion Bjorn Akesson. Dale signed with Ole Miss where he recorded four top-10 showings, before transferring to North Florida.