Weekend wrap-up (July 1)

Women’s Amateur

In her first U.S. Women’s Open Championship start, Casie Cathrea of Livermore, Calif., finished as the low amateur with a final-round, 2-under-par 70 at Sebonack Golf Club. Cathrea was one of two players to shoot 70 on Sunday, the lowest final-round score. Cathrea closed the week at 9-over-par 297.

No. 17 in the Polo Golf Rankings, Cathrea has earned four top-20 finishes since competing with the AJGA in 2008. She will compete for Oklahoma State University in the fall.


With her victory at the 2013 U.S. Women’s Open Championship, Inbee Park became the second player in LPGA history to win the first three majors of the season. Park rode her four-stroke lead into Sunday’s round to shoot a 2-over-par 74 to capture her second U.S. Women’s Open Championship with an 8-under-par 280.  This was her sixth LPGA title this year, and her third consecutive win.

Park, the 2002 Rolex Junior Player of the Year, won eight AJGA titles from 2001-2005. Her most notable victories came at the 2002 Rolex Girls Junior Championship and 2003 Rolex Tournament of Champions. Park holds five Rolex Junior All-America honors.

Men’s Amateur

Auburn junior Michael Johnson of Birmingham, Ala., shot a final-round 8-under-par 64 with six birdies and an eagle to win the Dogwood Invitational. Johnson’s victory at Druid Hills Golf Club came after he shattered the tournament record with a 28-under-par 260.

A 2010 Rolex Junior All-American, Johnson earned seven top-10 AJGA finishes in his five-year AJGA career and competed in the 2011 Wyndham Cup. He was a two-time AJGA champion, winning the 2010 AJGA Junior at Tedesco and the 2010 The Junior PLAYERS Championship.

As a true freshman, Johnson started all four fall events at Auburn University and was ranked fifth on the team in scoring average at 72.30. In 2012, he was named to the NCAA All-Southeast Regional Team and All-Freshman SEC Team.

Joey Johnson of Ozark, Mo., won the 106th annual Missouri Amateur after defeating Ryan Zech of Kearney, Mo., 7 and 6. Johnson won seven of the final 12 holes. 

Johnson competed with the AJGA from 2010-2011, earning a top-five finish at the 2011 Bass Pro Shops / Payne Stewart Junior Championship.

In his freshman season at Missouri State, Johnson played in all five tournaments. He ranked second on the team and 15th in the Missouri Valley Conference in scoring with 75.67 in 15 rounds.

Cody Paladino of Kensington, Conn., took home the Connecticut Amateur trophy after beating Peter Ballo, 3 and 1. Paladino became the second player in CSGA history to capture both the Palmer Cup and the Connecticut Amateur, and the first to win both in the same year.

During his time with the AJGA, Paladino earned six top-10 finishes, including a personal-best T3 at the 2005 Greater Hartford Jaycees Junior presented by St. Paul Travelers.

At Baylor University, Paladino was a three-time academic All-Big 12 and in 2009 became the first Baylor golfer in the program’s history to qualify for the NCAA Men’s Golf National Championship as an individual. He had nine career top-10 finishes while competing at Baylor.

Bill Haas won the AT&T National with a three-shot victory over Roberto Castro after shooting his lowest round of the tournament, 5-under-par 66. Haas recorded a tournament total of 12-under-par 272 at Congressional Country Club. This victory brings Haas’ career PGA TOUR wins to five, with eight top-10 finishes this year.

During his junior career, Haas’ lone victory came at his first AJGA tournament, the 1998 Greensboro Chrysler Junior Classic. Following his win, Haas collected five top-15 finishes and Rolex Junior All-America honors in 1998 and 1999. He was also a member of the East Team in the 1999 Wyndham Cup (formerly Canon Cup).

Haas got his collegiate career at Wake Forest off to a fast start by winning the 2001 ACC Rookie of the Year. He holds the Demon Deacon record for the most individual wins with 10 and posted 29 top-five finishes, including a second-place finish at the 2004 NCAA Men’s Golf National Championship. Haas, a three-time first team All-American, also accumulated two All-ACC honors including his 2003 ACC Player of the Year trophy.