Volunteer Award winner named


The AJGA will announce a tournament award winner each week leading up to the AJGA's Annual Meeting and the announcement of the Digger Smith Award.

Local organizers of The Junior PLAYERS Championship presented  by TaylorMade-adidas Golf, which took place at TPC  Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., August 31 – September 4, 2011, have earned  the Volunteer Award from the American Junior Golf Association. The Volunteer  Award is given annually to an AJGA tournament committee that builds the  character of the tournament through the model team of volunteers committed to  the success of that event.

Each  year, the AJGA presents awards to the tournaments with the best individual  media coverage, Junior-Am fundraising tournament, charitable giving, and  hospitality. The AJGA also recognizes its golf professional of the year, most  improved event, best new tournament, best Invitational, and overall tournament  of the year.                                                                                                                                               


Newcomer of the Year

Puerto Rico Junior Open

Media AwardANNIKA Invitational
Most Improved AwardE-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship
Volunteer Award

The Junior PLAYERS Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf

Hospitality AwardExide Technologies Junior Open

Junior-Am Award

HP Boys Championship
at Carlton Woods

Invitational of the YearHP Boys Championship
  at Carlton Woods
Charitable Giving Award

Natural Resource Partners
    Bluegrass Junior

Golf Professional of the YearBilly Anderson, Eagle Point Golf Club
Tournament of the YearClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior
Digger Smith AwardMarch 10

The  volunteers showed up every day to man timing stations, conduct live scoring,  drive shuttles and even help with meal counts and data entry. With two courses  being played in 2011, the volunteer assistance was a huge help to the AJGA  staff. From greeting the players and parents to handling the cooler crew; the volunteers  made this event a success. Tournament Chairman Billy Dettlaff and Volunteer  Chairman Jim McCarthy worked closely and were key individuals in creating a  strong volunteer committee at the Junior PLAYERS Championship presented by  TaylorMade-adidas Golf.

"Since  the inception of The Junior PLAYERS everyone involved has dedicated themselves  to making this one of the best junior tournaments in the world.  Receiving  this award acknowledges the depth of the volunteer commitment of the community  to that original goal," said Dettlaff. “I know the history of those who  have won the award in the past and it is a great honor to join this superior  group of volunteers.” 
The  Tournament Committee will accept its award at the AJGA's Annual Meeting, which  will be held March 9-11 at Château Élan Resort in Braselton, Ga.